We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool hotel, lovely room and friendliest service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Corner Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Amstel Corner Hotel to your Saves list
Amstel Corner Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatikade 16, 1017 WV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cool hotel, lovely room and friendliest service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Just got back from Amstel Corner and had a fab stay in this lovely hotel. Stayed in Dream Room on the 2nd floor. Nice big windows overlooking gardens at back and really cute & cosy. Kitchen in a cupboard was a highlight!!! Owners are great and more than happy to help you out. My bf proposed while we were there and Fokko (owner) got us champagne and flowers in the room. Just perfect :) took about 30 mins to walk into town but Lidl just across the way for supplies and Rembrandtsplein pretty close by. Would defo recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    17
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We stayed there in the honeymoon suite.
The room overlooks the canal, is very spacious, elegant and beutifully decorated.
It was GREAT.
Service was excellent also.
Location is 20 minutes walking distance from the DAM square.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

The owner Fokko helped us with our luggage to the 'Dream room' which had lovely large windows, a comfortable bed with memory foam mattress, an excellent shower and the most wonderful cupboard (which I initially thought was a wardrobe) containing a hob, microwave, fridge, coffee maker, kettle, sink and even tea towels. The Wifi was handy too! It was an absolute gem of a place and very clean. Location quiet but near to everything Amstardam has to offer. A brilliant place to stay and I highly reccommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Ideal location as I like to get out walking and explore places I visit. Quiet location but plenty of local bars / coffee shops / restaurants right on the doorstep. We turned up at midday and were given a warm welcome even though the room had only just been vacated and had not been cleaned. Even so we were shown the room, given keys etc so went off for a stroll and retuned 1 hour later. We were then given a bottle of chilled wine followed by another two days later when our hosts discovered it was my birthday. Good facilities in the room so we could prepare basic meals (we stayed in the Playroom) and room cleaned to high standard every day. 3 flights of steep stairs to the room but not an issue unless you have mobility problems. I'd definitely stay at Amstel Corner again. Thanks.

Room Tip: We had the cheapest Play Room and from what I saw the other rooms were luxurious although ours was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Found this hotel through TripAdvisor and so glad we did.
The three of us stayed here for 3 nights (Thu/Fri/Sat) and took a taxi from airport for 45.00 GBP. Fokko was there to meet with us and show us to our apartment on the top floor. The room is very spacious with a king bed and a sofa bed for our child. The shower room, kitchen were perfect for our stay.
Our room on the top floor was up 4 flight of steps which are narrow and steep - but to us it was all fun and our child loved it. If a little unfit don't book Dukes Room!
There are heaps of restaurants around the area / the Rembrandt Plaza etc (15min walk with a 5 year old). Great transport links (Canal/Tram/Metro). 15 min walk to the H brewery and Van Gogh museum, etc.
This place is highly recommended and when we next visit Amsterdam we will be sure to book here.

Room Tip: Dukes room was on top level with nice canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Returned yesterday after 3 nights in the 'Dukes Suite' at the Amstel Corner with my wife and 6yr old daughter.
On arrival (which was quite late), we were met by Fokko, the owner, who showed us to our room which is at the very top of the building, up some very steep, narrow stairs, which is pretty standard for Amsterdam. We never saw him again but were able to stay in touch by email or text if necessary.
We loved the room. It has a nice view over the Amstel river, is modern, clean and well equipped with an induction hob, combi microwave, fridge and plenty of plates, cups, utensils etc. I particularly appreciated the coffee machine in the morning. It also has a HDTV and a decent stereo system if you wanted to use them. There was supposed to be a DVD player but it never materialised.
The double bed was comfortable but on the soft side, as was the single bed for the little one. There is lots of contemporary lighting around the room and the on-suite shower room is modern and spotless.
The only downside we found is that the room is facing a busy road and the traffic noise was pretty loud and went on until late. Although I've got to say it never disturbed the little one, who slept like a log.
There are tram stops within 150m which take you to the main spots of Dam and Rembrant Square, all the way down Central Station and vice versa. You can also take a walk, following the Amstel river, down to the above areas. It's a fair distance but there are plenty of opportunities to stop for coffee en-route and take time to appreciate the beautiful buildings of Amsterdam. FYI we jumped in a taxi from central station and it cost 16 euro.
On our last day, check out was 1100 however we were able to leave bags at the hotel to be picked up later as our flight was not until 2120. Great service.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider staying at the Amstel Corner again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in the Play room. The room was very well equipped & clean, lovely bathroom & the little kitchenette came in handy. Located on the top floor, I wouldn't recommend to anyone with problems climbing stairs. As previous reviews state, it's a very steep climb!

Excellent location along a canal, quiet at night & the area seemed safe. Walking distance to most sights in central Amsterdam. The owner was quite helpful with directions before arrival & check in was a breeze.

Would definitely recommend & would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Amstel Corner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Corner Hotel

Address: Sarphatikade 16, 1017 WV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 351 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Corner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amstel Corner Hotel, Luxurious Studio's and well designed rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Amstel Corner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Corner Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.