We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality - definitely stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Corner Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Amstel Corner Hotel to your Saves list
Amstel Corner Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatikade 16, 1017 WV Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Quality - definitely stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Ideal location as I like to get out walking and explore places I visit. Quiet location but plenty of local bars / coffee shops / restaurants right on the doorstep. We turned up at midday and were given a warm welcome even though the room had only just been vacated and had not been cleaned. Even so we were shown the room, given keys etc so went off for a stroll and retuned 1 hour later. We were then given a bottle of chilled wine followed by another two days later when our hosts discovered it was my birthday. Good facilities in the room so we could prepare basic meals (we stayed in the Playroom) and room cleaned to high standard every day. 3 flights of steep stairs to the room but not an issue unless you have mobility problems. I'd definitely stay at Amstel Corner again. Thanks.

Room Tip: We had the cheapest Play Room and from what I saw the other rooms were luxurious although ours was g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    20
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
50
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Found this hotel through TripAdvisor and so glad we did.
The three of us stayed here for 3 nights (Thu/Fri/Sat) and took a taxi from airport for 45.00 GBP. Fokko was there to meet with us and show us to our apartment on the top floor. The room is very spacious with a king bed and a sofa bed for our child. The shower room, kitchen were perfect for our stay.
Our room on the top floor was up 4 flight of steps which are narrow and steep - but to us it was all fun and our child loved it. If a little unfit don't book Dukes Room!
There are heaps of restaurants around the area / the Rembrandt Plaza etc (15min walk with a 5 year old). Great transport links (Canal/Tram/Metro). 15 min walk to the H brewery and Van Gogh museum, etc.
This place is highly recommended and when we next visit Amsterdam we will be sure to book here.

Room Tip: Dukes room was on top level with nice canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Returned yesterday after 3 nights in the 'Dukes Suite' at the Amstel Corner with my wife and 6yr old daughter.
On arrival (which was quite late), we were met by Fokko, the owner, who showed us to our room which is at the very top of the building, up some very steep, narrow stairs, which is pretty standard for Amsterdam. We never saw him again but were able to stay in touch by email or text if necessary.
We loved the room. It has a nice view over the Amstel river, is modern, clean and well equipped with an induction hob, combi microwave, fridge and plenty of plates, cups, utensils etc. I particularly appreciated the coffee machine in the morning. It also has a HDTV and a decent stereo system if you wanted to use them. There was supposed to be a DVD player but it never materialised.
The double bed was comfortable but on the soft side, as was the single bed for the little one. There is lots of contemporary lighting around the room and the on-suite shower room is modern and spotless.
The only downside we found is that the room is facing a busy road and the traffic noise was pretty loud and went on until late. Although I've got to say it never disturbed the little one, who slept like a log.
There are tram stops within 150m which take you to the main spots of Dam and Rembrant Square, all the way down Central Station and vice versa. You can also take a walk, following the Amstel river, down to the above areas. It's a fair distance but there are plenty of opportunities to stop for coffee en-route and take time to appreciate the beautiful buildings of Amsterdam. FYI we jumped in a taxi from central station and it cost 16 euro.
On our last day, check out was 1100 however we were able to leave bags at the hotel to be picked up later as our flight was not until 2120. Great service.
All in all we enjoyed our stay and would definitely consider staying at the Amstel Corner again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights in the Play room. The room was very well equipped & clean, lovely bathroom & the little kitchenette came in handy. Located on the top floor, I wouldn't recommend to anyone with problems climbing stairs. As previous reviews state, it's a very steep climb!

Excellent location along a canal, quiet at night & the area seemed safe. Walking distance to most sights in central Amsterdam. The owner was quite helpful with directions before arrival & check in was a breeze.

Would definitely recommend & would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We spent a few days in Amsterdam as part of our honeymoon and must say the hotel was definitely one of the highlights. We loved the room (Play room on the top floor), the quirky furniture and the amazing authentic building. The hotel has 4 rooms and the location is perfect as very central but still super quiet. Lovely bars, restaurants and cafes only a few minutes away.

The owner was really lovely and his great taste shows everywhere in the hotel. He also surprised us with a bottle of fizz and a lovely note once he found out it was our honeymoon :)

Would recommend and happily go back :)

Room Tip: Play room overlooks the garden and is on the top floor and very quiet. Light and airy with huge wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in the Dream Room for 3 nights, it was a nice quiet room at the back of the hotel overlooking gardens. A really comfortable bed, little shower room and fab little kitchen unit, just enough for making breakfast and coffee. Lovely stay and we hope to come back soon, would def stay again as excellent value for money and only a short walk to lots of restaurants and Brown Cafes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Even though we were told the stairs would be steep, we had no idea how steep they really were. Luckily our bags were carried up for us! Other than that it was a unique experience. Located close to transit right across fom a canal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
377 House - Amsterdam
#44 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
Dream Hotel Amsterdam
#52 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Clemens Hotel
Clemens Hotel
#30 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#56 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 927 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Hotel Notting Hill
Hotel Notting Hill
#59 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Hotel La Boheme
#49 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amstel Corner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Corner Hotel

Address: Sarphatikade 16, 1017 WV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 355 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Corner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amstel Corner Hotel, Luxurious Studio's and well designed rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Amstel Corner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Corner Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.