We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amstel Corner Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Corner Hotel

Save Saved
You added Amstel Corner Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amstel Corner Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatikade 16, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Amsterdam
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amstel Corner Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We arrived early at the hotel and were able to be checked in straight away. The hotel room was lovely and very clean. It had the added bonus of a little kitchen area. We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.



  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    16
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We loved Amstel Corner which is a small place with a few rooms, more of a boarding house (but with a privacy you do not normally get in a B&B) than a hotel - no front desk etc.. Our room was on the top floor with nice views over a canal and was very quiet as we were so high up. The room was very large indeed with a stunning variety of lighting. Lights in every corner for every mood!; with a dimmer or switch or two thrown in. The room had a whole bunch of things such as cooker, fridge, CD player, coffee machine, as well as the usual TV, free wi-fi etc. The decor was excellent and had a personal ambience about it rather than a chain hotel feel. A big window and a skylight gives a lot of natural light, although that is limited in the dark north European winter. The bathroom is small but modern and is very well designed to maximise space.
The location, although just outside the very centre of Amsterdam, is excellent, just a few minutes walk from busy and interesting Utreschstraat, A few minutes along Utrechtstraat takes you you to Rembrandtsplein. The less energetic can get a tram to Rembrandts or right into Dam Square. Amstel Corner is wonderful value in expensive Amsterdam, but beware of the steep stairs if you are not too fit or have a lot of luggage.
We love being in the heart of a city (preferably close to the main station) but on our next visit to Amsterdam we intend returning to Amstel Corner.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed in the Dream Room for 5 nights. It was absolutely lovely! The room itself is quite small but perfectly formed. Not much space for hanging and storing clothes but we were fine with that! The bed is huge and very comfy with a memory foam mattress. It is two single beds pushed together but it wasn't a problem really.The sink, hob and fridge are neatly hidden in a big cupboard with all the utensils you could need to make light meals should you wish to. There was a coffee machine and special coffee bags so you can make yourself a nice fresh coffee. Flat screen TV and CD player.

The bathroom is very small but done to a high standard with a lovely glass sink and glass cube wall seperating the shower. I would say that if you are on the larger side you would not feel comfortable in this bathroom as it would be a very tight squeeze indeed! (I understand the other rooms are much bigger).

Fokko was really nice and welcoming. The lady who cleaned our room did a wonderful job. There is no reception or anything like that so you are left to your own devices which is exactly what we wanted. If you need anything though then Fokko is more than happy to help and just a phone call away.

The only thing I would mention is that the towels were cleaned every day which I didn't think was necessary as I'm used to using a towel more than once and think it's more environmentally friendly to re-use a few times.

The hotel is in walking distance of many nice bars and restaurants. We like to walk so we didn't catch the tram at any point but there is tram stop just up the road.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

POSITIVE: The size of the room is decent compare to the other hotels which are only 10sqm2. The area is very quiet so we slept very well at night. the room is very clean and is kept clean everyday by the housekeeper. Service wise is very pleasant- the housekeeper MARIA helped us bring our bags into our room- gave us free maps and gave us a few spots to shop. The hotel is only 3min walk away from the tram which can basically take you to Dam square/Centraal Station. WIFI was very strong in our room. Lots of equipment in the kitchen area and towels in the bathroom was replaced daily.

NEGATIVE: There was no lifts and we were on the top level- and the stairs were very steep and narrow! Be careful and don't rush climbing up/down the stairs or you will truly trip and fall. Otherwise no other complaints.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreux, Switzerland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

I stayed 9 days in this place and I really enjoyed it: Large beds & excellent mattresses, clean room, excellent free wifi, beautiful and functional curtains, good temperature regulation (very fast warm). I will definitely book this place again.

Room Tip: Bathroom of the Dream Room is small but functional; the room as a practical kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunningdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed for a long weekend at the end of September, we were both excited by the reviews and the hotel didnt quite live up to the billing.
The welcome was brusque and short, there was confusion on how to pay and we had to ask a couple of times to be talked through a map and where we could get food at 9pm (as we had arrived late evening).
There were a few minor issues with the room, nothing major, but just detracted from the hotel.
It's well located and we enjoyed the trips (especially the canals) and eventually saw Fokko again as we were leaving for the airport.
Maybe it just wasnt for us

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My hubby and I stayed at the Amstel Corner for 2 nights during our 3 weeks European vacation this past May. The hotel was bit tough to find initially only because we were't sure of where we were going but once you got used to it you find that it's very centrally located. We stayed in the smallest suite which was perfect for 2 people and quite spacious by European standards. It had a cute little kitchenette in what looked like an armoire and the bed was extremely comfy which is great after all the walking you do in Amsterdam. The staff was extremely friendly and I would definitely stay there again if I were to go back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amstel Corner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Corner Hotel

Address: Sarphatikade 16, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Corner Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Amstel Corner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Corner Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.