We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Corner Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Amstel Corner Hotel to your Saves list
Amstel Corner Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatikade 16, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Sunningdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“a bit disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed for a long weekend at the end of September, we were both excited by the reviews and the hotel didnt quite live up to the billing.
The welcome was brusque and short, there was confusion on how to pay and we had to ask a couple of times to be talked through a map and where we could get food at 9pm (as we had arrived late evening).
There were a few minor issues with the room, nothing major, but just detracted from the hotel.
It's well located and we enjoyed the trips (especially the canals) and eventually saw Fokko again as we were leaving for the airport.
Maybe it just wasnt for us

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    16
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

My hubby and I stayed at the Amstel Corner for 2 nights during our 3 weeks European vacation this past May. The hotel was bit tough to find initially only because we were't sure of where we were going but once you got used to it you find that it's very centrally located. We stayed in the smallest suite which was perfect for 2 people and quite spacious by European standards. It had a cute little kitchenette in what looked like an armoire and the bed was extremely comfy which is great after all the walking you do in Amsterdam. The staff was extremely friendly and I would definitely stay there again if I were to go back to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chamonix, France
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I wouldn't call this a hotel, as there are no facilities, but it was a great place to stay. The house is in a great location right on a canal, a few minutes walk from trams and tube. Fokko was very welcoming and efficient. The two rooms we took were spacious for Amsterdam, well equipped with kitchenettes, clean modern bathrooms, modern furniture and comfy beds. It was nice to be able to make tea and coffees, and snacks.

I would book this again as an alternative to a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We chose to stay here as we found some of the more smaller (i.e. not chain), more centrally located hotels were extortionately priced. This was more reasonable and although it was further out this wasn't a problem as it was an easy walk to the centre (about 15-20 minutes along the canals) - if you'd prefer not to walk there are good tram links. Amstel Corner is a cross between a hotel and apartment: there is no reception but we just called before we arrived to make sure someone was there to meet us; we were met by Maria who was very friendly and even carried my suitcase up the steep stairs for me! There is a kitchen area to make drinks and snacks but the room was tidied and towels replaced every day. We stayed in the Duke's Suite which was lovely - spacious, lovely airy, light room, comfy bed, modern bathroom with flowers which was a nice touch. Only criticism would be that the cold tap didn't work well - either didn't work at all or would gush and it was difficult to turn it off again :-( and the panel for the toilet flush was missing. This was a great base for our stay in Amsterdam and I would consider staying here again if we were to return!

Room Tip: The Duke Suite is lovely but be aware it is at the top of the house up several flights of typically...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

The 'Play' room that we stayed in was very stylish and had lots of light. We would definitely consider staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amstel Corner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Corner Hotel

Address: Sarphatikade 16, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Corner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amstel Corner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Corner Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.