We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of both worlds” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Corner Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amstel Corner Hotel to your Saves list
Amstel Corner Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatikade 16, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best of both worlds”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

I stayed in the duke suite with my partner in october 2011. We got best of both worlds as it was more like an appartment; no going for breakfast befoe 10am, having a kitchenette etc.. yet we were given fresh towels so it felt like a hotel in a way.

location: We never walked into the city centre as it was too far when you will already do a lot of walking in amsterdam as it is. but the tram was a 5 min walk and very easy to use. There is a very cheap supermarket over the road, a coffee shop and a lovely restaurand and takeaway at the end of the road.

Room: Very big! the kitchen had everything u need appart from a toaster, very handy to have a table and sofa. and a beautiful view out of the window that opens properly! The heating was always on in the mornings, so although the floor is tiled, its stil very warm.

En-suit Bathroom: nice big shower, very nicely done.

over all a great stay and you get the feel of very steep stairs an amsterdam trait. the only thing i could suggest would be to have another mirror in the bedroom as there was only one in the toilet. but the tv was perfect! big flat sreen tv love it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    17
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
43
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

My fiancee and I stayed at the Amstel Corner in the Dream Room for 3 nights at the beginning of July. It was absolutely perfect! The room was as beautiful as it is in all the pictures and has huge windows that overlook a lovely garden. The bed was extremely comfortable, which made it wonderful to crawl into at the end of long days wandering around Amsterdam. Even the long, steep, winding red staircases just added to the atmosphere and experience.

It's in a quiet location very near to lots of restaurants, brown cafes, coffeeshops, and the Albert Cuyp Markt. It's a bit removed from many typical tourist attractions, which we found to be perfect.

The Amstel Corner will be one of the best parts of your trip!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

I'll admit the Amstel Corner Hotel wasn't our first choice - our budget was running low and only the Honeymoon Room was available. But the picture online looked pretty good.

I had more doubts as the bloke hauled our luggage precariously up the narrow, steep flights of stairs.

Turns out this was the best choice we'd made in weeks on the road.

The Honeymoon Room is a light, airy space with beautiful, stylish and unique fittings and furniture - a captivating mix of quality antique and swish ultra-modern.

The room's french windows opened onto a tiny balcony, overlooking a quiet tree-lined street and a canal - how very Amsterdam.

Inside, below a striking light fitting was an enormous, comfortable bed with an odd box at the foot that turned out to house a flat screen TV on a mechanical lift - my gadget-loving bloke was in love. Off to one side, a small but comfortable lounge area and basic tea/coffee and other refreshments and enough kitchenware to eat a take-away meal. There's free wireless wifi, fast and responsive.

Two enormous doors revealed the room's crowning glory: the ensuite. The bath was generous for the bloke's 6'2" height and I could just about swim laps in it. An open shower onto lavish slate flooring, stylish glass basin and quality shampoo/conditioner products - I could have spent all day in there.

I have no idea what the other rooms are like and they may vary. But that Honeymoon Room is something special. In fact, we could have spent days without leaving this room, except that Amsterdam is so exciting and interesting.

The hotel is close enough to the centre of town, easily reached by tram. The immediate neighbourhood has a vibrant shopping strip with a multitude of local restaurants, pubs, boutiques, and excellent purveyors of cheese, meat, fruit and vegetables, etc.. (Which is good as the Amstel Corner doesn't do meals).

The host is a dude - good humoured and happy to give lighly localised food and related advice, but otherwise he gives you your privacy. Thanks Fokker for the champagne, stroopwaffel and fruit, not to mention the personal note - we felt very welcomed. And best wishes to your lovely cat!

Room Tip: Ask for the Honeymoon Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

This is a lovely apartment tucked away next to a picturesque canal with a fabulous laid back vibe and close to all that Amsterdam has to offer.
Fokko is a lovely host and the whole experience very cool, comfortable and very chic.
We stayed in the 'Honeymoon Suite' and it was gorgeous, big comfortable bed, chic balcony, elegant bathroom and fully equip with everything you need for a short or long trip.
A total 5* venue that is perfect for both a couple or friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Wow! Had a wonderful stay here and look forward to returning soon! We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, and it was absolutely beautiful.. Everything was perfect. The bed was amazingly comfortable (tv comes out of the bottom of the bed - which I really liked!), the bathroom was stunning (no expense spared!), lovely little balcony overlooking the canal, and other things like the coffee machine, ipod dock, wifi, and a welcoming bottle of champagne were a bonus! It is a peaceful, relaxing, intimate hotel, and we were warmly welcomed by Fokko - the owner.

We hope to see you again soon! Thank you Fokko!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Amstel Corner is a small guesthouse with four rooms. There are 2 or 3 quite steep staircases to climb, depending on which room you take. They were okay for us but might be worth considering for those with less mobility. The owner Fokko was absolutely lovely. He lives in the house itself on the lower floors.

Our party occupied 3 rooms, the Duke Suite, Honeymoon Room and Play Room. All rooms had toiletries and towels provided, and were decorated beautifully. There was free WIFI. The beds were also super comfortable! The Honeymoon Room was lovely with a really pretty bathroom and a microwave, fridge and coffee machine. It also had a balcony which looked over the canal, and a radio/iPod dock and TV.

The Play Room was on the top floor. This room was smaller than the other two but nonetheless well equipped. A hob, microwave, coffee machine and fridge is provided, along with pots and pans and dining equipment.

The Duke Suite has two beds and a sofa bed. We found the sofa bed a bit uncomfortable so it might be worth instead requesting the extra full bed which costs 35euro per night if you find this important. This room had all the amenities of the Play Room, along with a dining table and chairs and a combination oven.

There was a supermarket handily located about 2 mins walk from the hotel, which meant we were able to conveniently cook in the apartment. Great for people on a budget, especially since it can be hard to find good restaurants in Amsterdam.

The hotel was just outside the real center of the city. It was about 15 mins walk to Leisdeplein, and 25 to Centraal Station. Trams were very frequent during the day, but we should have really asked the owner the best way to get back in the evening as the trams stop around 12. There was little noise from the street, although we found that if we left the doors open in the rooms sound carried across the rooms quite easily. With the doors shut this was no problem.

Amstel Corner is a guesthouse rather than a hotel, so don't expect that level of service. Our group found it a much better experience staying at Amstel Corner rather than the previous hotels we've stayed at in Amsterdam. We felt welcomed by the owner, and the uniqueness of the rooms as well as staying in a real house on a canal added to our enjoyment.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

The hotel is beautiful. Fokko the owner was extremely personable and helpful. We felt very welcomed upon our arrival. The bed was a dream to sleep on and the bathroom was absouletly georgeous. Very quiet and relaxing

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amstel Corner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Corner Hotel

Address: Sarphatikade 16, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 345 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Corner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Hotels.com, EasyToBook and Odigeo so you can book your Amstel Corner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Corner Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.