We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh So Chic and Unique” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amstel Corner Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Amstel Corner Hotel to your Saves list
Amstel Corner Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sarphatikade 16, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Safe 7,5% direct bookings
Ranked #60 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Oh So Chic and Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

This is a lovely apartment tucked away next to a picturesque canal with a fabulous laid back vibe and close to all that Amsterdam has to offer.
Fokko is a lovely host and the whole experience very cool, comfortable and very chic.
We stayed in the 'Honeymoon Suite' and it was gorgeous, big comfortable bed, chic balcony, elegant bathroom and fully equip with everything you need for a short or long trip.
A total 5* venue that is perfect for both a couple or friends.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    17
    7
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
42
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2011

Wow! Had a wonderful stay here and look forward to returning soon! We stayed in the Honeymoon Suite, and it was absolutely beautiful.. Everything was perfect. The bed was amazingly comfortable (tv comes out of the bottom of the bed - which I really liked!), the bathroom was stunning (no expense spared!), lovely little balcony overlooking the canal, and other things like the coffee machine, ipod dock, wifi, and a welcoming bottle of champagne were a bonus! It is a peaceful, relaxing, intimate hotel, and we were warmly welcomed by Fokko - the owner.

We hope to see you again soon! Thank you Fokko!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

Amstel Corner is a small guesthouse with four rooms. There are 2 or 3 quite steep staircases to climb, depending on which room you take. They were okay for us but might be worth considering for those with less mobility. The owner Fokko was absolutely lovely. He lives in the house itself on the lower floors.

Our party occupied 3 rooms, the Duke Suite, Honeymoon Room and Play Room. All rooms had toiletries and towels provided, and were decorated beautifully. There was free WIFI. The beds were also super comfortable! The Honeymoon Room was lovely with a really pretty bathroom and a microwave, fridge and coffee machine. It also had a balcony which looked over the canal, and a radio/iPod dock and TV.

The Play Room was on the top floor. This room was smaller than the other two but nonetheless well equipped. A hob, microwave, coffee machine and fridge is provided, along with pots and pans and dining equipment.

The Duke Suite has two beds and a sofa bed. We found the sofa bed a bit uncomfortable so it might be worth instead requesting the extra full bed which costs 35euro per night if you find this important. This room had all the amenities of the Play Room, along with a dining table and chairs and a combination oven.

There was a supermarket handily located about 2 mins walk from the hotel, which meant we were able to conveniently cook in the apartment. Great for people on a budget, especially since it can be hard to find good restaurants in Amsterdam.

The hotel was just outside the real center of the city. It was about 15 mins walk to Leisdeplein, and 25 to Centraal Station. Trams were very frequent during the day, but we should have really asked the owner the best way to get back in the evening as the trams stop around 12. There was little noise from the street, although we found that if we left the doors open in the rooms sound carried across the rooms quite easily. With the doors shut this was no problem.

Amstel Corner is a guesthouse rather than a hotel, so don't expect that level of service. Our group found it a much better experience staying at Amstel Corner rather than the previous hotels we've stayed at in Amsterdam. We felt welcomed by the owner, and the uniqueness of the rooms as well as staying in a real house on a canal added to our enjoyment.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2010

The hotel is beautiful. Fokko the owner was extremely personable and helpful. We felt very welcomed upon our arrival. The bed was a dream to sleep on and the bathroom was absouletly georgeous. Very quiet and relaxing

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

Ok, cant make up my mind whether this is a good place to stay, or not - Fokko the owner is a friendly chap on arrival, but then you never see him! Our room (The Dream Room) was very very small and the bathroom miniscule - its a good job my partner and I aren't big people because there is literally no room to turn round! The plus points is that it is very laid back (like the rest of Amsterdam!) but on the downside there is no room cleaning done whilst you are there - the room smelled of old smoke (theres no non smoking rules obviously) and the duvet was obviously old and a bit too thin! We liked the small kitchenette facility in the room but this was housed in a huge cupboard which then made the room feel so cramped. It was ok but certainly not as special as it looks in the photos and certainly not as cheap as I think it should have been. - 100 Euros a night is a bit excessive for what you get. Amsterdam is a fabulous place (must be even nicer if the sun shines!) and we will go back but wouldnt stay at Amstel Corner again - there's lots of other, more central, places to stay where you would probably get more space and facilities for your Euros!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amstel Corner Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amstel Corner Hotel

Address: Sarphatikade 16, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 344 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Amstel Corner Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amstel Corner Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amstel Corner Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.