We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff, Nice Food, Good Athmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Geisha

Geisha
Prins Hendrikkade 106 A | 1011 AJ, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
+31.206262410
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #121 of 2,288 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $33 - $72
Cuisines: Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Binnenstad
Description: Asian fine food in a cosmopolitan atmosphere
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Staff, Nice Food, Good Athmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

We were recommended this restaurant by the concierge at our hotel. It was a hidden gem, with lovely decor and a nice atmosphere. Our waiter was very friendly and advised us on how many dishes to order. We had 3 dishes to start with then realized we were full up as we had a very late lunch that day. He was kind enough to cancel our 3 remaining dishes that we planned to have for our main course and did not kick up a fuss or charge us which was very kind of him! I would go here again as the service and food was very nice.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    61
    27
    11
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Asian food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

The food was wonderful with many offerings. They seemed to be understaffed the night we dined here, but somehow managed.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Surprise Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

The restaurant was recommended to us by our hotel concierge. A mixture of Japanese and fusion. A little bit difficult to find as it is on a quiet street.

It is not often I can look at a menu and honestly say I could choose anything on it. As we couldn't make up our minds, we chose the Chef's surprise. We weren't disappointed. Very creative looking and extremely tasty. One of the best meals we have had in a long time and not too expensive.

The staff were pleasant and attentive without being too in your face.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Asian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

I love this Asian restaurant. It is not so crowded most days and I wonder why. Their food is amazing, creative, tasty, fresh, and surprising. Just order the surprise menu and indulge. Not very inexpensive but you will not regret going here if you like Asian food.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thoiry, Rhone-Alpes, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Despite the small portions and being not cheap at all, the food and the service were so good that I recommend it by all means.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Geisha also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Geisha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Geisha, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.