We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One to steer clear of.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Acostar Hotel

Save Saved
You added Acostar Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Acostar Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 45-49, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #195 of 304 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
1 review
“One to steer clear of.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Only spent a single weekday night here, and that was more than enough for me. I had a tiny pokey little room on the 4th floor above the street. It was noisy at night and I had a very disrupted sleep, the room was too stuffy and hot to close the window, and also the lack of A/C. The bedding and towels were fresh and clean, but the rest of the room was in need of a good clean, thick dust on every surface above eye level. The shower didn't have hot water, just ran cold, but the hand basin had hot running water. The lady staff member at the desk was about as much use as a chocolate teapot, check in and out was crazy slow. The price was way too much for what you get, even at Amsterdam prices. Breakfast was total crap, best saving that €7.50 for a waffle and coffee in town. In fact save all your money and just don't book here, there is far better places around the area. I spent the rest of my week stay at another nearby hotel.

Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    85
    73
    34
    25
See reviews for
15
121
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Aljezur, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Booked this through another site, turned up, breakfast no longer included, no longer a bargain. Not sure who was at fault. Very Dutch place - staff with a great sense of humour and all appeared to be off a film set. And actually completely unhelpful. Owner, who did not fit my description of the other staff, having a very unpleasant bullying altercation with a temporary staff member as a I left. Room (which was a late booking) roasting in an attic. WiFi broke down in the night, staff trying to bodge. "Coffee shop" next door. All a bit "real" in fact. I rather liked it, one flt very alive and part of the cit there - oh yead, and very, very central. Bar opposite excellent. But I'd not take my family nor rely on the staff further than I could spit a rat.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I wish I had read the TripAdvisor reviews before booking at the Acostar. We shared the same experiences as many, many other people. Ridiculously tiny rooms, hot water not working or, at best, tepid, wifi out of order. The rooms had not been vacuumed effectively. Worse still, the owner (who is not Dutch) ridiculed my complaints and then made screamed abuse at me.

The location is very central but also noisy all night long. The women desk staff were actually quite pleasant and as helpful as they could be in the circumstances, but they have a terrible product to work with.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else. It seems very unlikely this hotel has any clean, serviceable or quiet rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freshwater, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The rooms were ridiculously tiny, we couldn't open the bathroom door properly because the bed was in the way. The bathroom was dirty, there was other peoples hair everywhere. The walls were paper thin, I woke up hearing the couple in the room next to us having sex. This place was disappointing and gross

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

The location is amazing, near to Leidsplain, Anne Frank's house, Van Gogh museum, Amstel river and good restaurants and stores. The hotel has a basic style but is very clean, the rooms are good with a very good shower! The breakfast is good but the stairs are uncomfortable. The staff is very polite and helpful. It´s possible to rente a bike from the hotel very quickly, what is so convenient in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

We stayed at the Acostar in June, we had a double room on the fourth floor. It was one of the cheapest we could find for a last minute city break so didn't expect much, we were pleasantly surprised though. The location was fab, far enough away from the touristy Damm square but easily waking distance to the museums, the shopping, canals ect. It was clean, no smells and bed was very comfy. It was a small room and we had an oriental theme overlooking the courtyard, great black curtains for keeping the daylight out! Bathroom was clean and everything worked. Only slight downside was being four flights of stairs up each time you return but that was manageable. Would recommend this hotel and visit Mike bike tours just down the road the best way to see the city!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

If you have to book your accommodation to this hotel don't take Rm. 444! It looks like a store room converted into a 2 single beds!

Apart from a young lady at front desk, the male staff including the owner of the hotel are nice. An advice to her to take up a customer service training. She doesn't know how to deal with customers. She projects an arrogant attitude.

In summary, I don't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: tick on the swimming pool item above is a mistake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Acostar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acostar Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 45-49, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #195 of 304 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Acostar Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Acostar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acostar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.