We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acostar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Acostar Hotel to your Saves list
Acostar Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 45-49, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #206 of 307 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Not bad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We've recently stayed in the acostar. The staff seemed to be friendly enough. The room size was allright, not the biggest but we did not have the highest expectations.
Locationwise one of the bests! Everything is just a minute away.
Stairs can be exhausting after a long day of having fun :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    94
    93
    41
    38
See reviews for
19
140
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I wasn´t expecting much from a low-cost hotel but the rooms really were tiny and the carpets were all stained (I dread to think what with!). No lift and we had a room on the 4th floor. The stairwell smellt stale and smoky despite the fact that smoking is forbidden in the hotel.
Definitely don´t go there with children as it´s next to a sex shop and opposite a kinky gay club.
The only good thing about it was the fact that you can easily walk there to most places.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elliniko, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

It is close to shops, supermarkets, restaurants and pubs! it's a walking destination the city centre and the museum square if you are used to walking!
our room was not too big, but for two it was ok! the bathroom was perfect! they changed the towels everyday and they gave us soap and showergel as much as we wanted everyday! Friday night was a bit loud the streets around, but i guess that's happening all over the city!!
will be back for sure

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Nice hotel,staff nice and helpful,hotel in a good location,plenty of restaurants around,room a bit small but that wasn't a problem as I used it only for sleeping,nice powerful shower,tv with good few channels. Very comfy bed

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaals, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The location is perfect but the room was tiny. The room our friends stayed in was even tinier! They couln't even walk around the bed. We stayed for one night only, so we didn't have any luggage. But there's no place for a suitcase! Wen we arrived it was very hot in the room. We opened a window but you could't leave it open at night because of the noise. The modern bathroom was ok but the smell wasn't... Breakfast was good though.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambrils, Spain
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The rooms very but very dirty. There was mosquitos smashed on the walls. The rooms stinks.
The receptionist didn't have any idea whatsoever about places, directions, etc.
The internet doesn't work at all in the room.
The worst thing of the hotel was that they didn't change the towels. I went downstairs to ask in a nice way to do it when I was going out all day to visit the city. My surprise when i came back that they didn't change it. I asked again and the receptionist didn't do anything.
I would never recommend it at all not even for the price cause it was expensive.
Just one thing is good wich is the location

Room Tip: Please keep searching. Trust me this is not quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Location: Perfect, just in the middle between Leidsplein and Dam square. A lot of shops nearby, restaurants and hangout places.
Street is quiet after 10-11 pm

Room: Booked 3 months in advance and got one of the smallest rooms in the hotel on the 4th floor with no elevator.
Basically you get a place to sleep, a toilet and a shower. Barely any place to stand and even put the luggage.
The guy at the counter said it's normal for Amsterdam cause they give away the biggest rooms for early booking. The room smelled a bit like bad sewage.
Building is old = paper thin walls, if you have trouble sleeping you should bring earplugs.

Breakfast: Basic but more then worthy of the price.

Staff: extremely nice, helpful and polite.
Didn't have an extra blanket we asked but that's not really up to the staff.

Value for money: you get a basic room with in a comfortable location for a low price.

If you're young and don't mind the stairs - worth a look, just book as early as possible.
If you're older and can't climb to the 4th floor I would avoid staying here.

Room Tip: Prefer lower floors - stairs are very steep Rooms that end with "6" are the smallest - ab...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acostar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acostar Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 45-49, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #206 of 307 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Acostar Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Acostar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acostar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.