We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID! AVOID...I SAY AGAIN...AVOID!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Acostar Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Acostar Hotel to your Saves list
Acostar Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 45-49, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #222 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“AVOID! AVOID...I SAY AGAIN...AVOID!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

very basic rooms...not my hotel of choice but stayed for two nights on a stag do. Sadly my room was robbed on the second day and money taken out of my wallet. There was no safe so I couldn't put it anywhere else. My room wasn't broken into forceably so Houdini must have been in the next room!! A few others in our party were also robbed.Made it a very damp end to an excellent weekend... The hotel staff were very unhelpful and rude, instead of being sympathetic they just played on the downside of calling the police, the waiting, the reports...you might miss your flight ...the everything!! AVOID AVOID AVOID! you have been warned...

Room Tip: don't go there...get a room somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    111
    108
    54
    54
See reviews for
21
178
24
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in Acostar. Its situated in a very accessible area within walking distance of the happening Leidsplein square. The staff were friendly and helpful. The front desk is manned 24 hours. We were able to keep the luggage in storage before we checked in so we could go out to the city. Stairs are a bit steep but I guess that true for most of Amsterdam. As there is no lift you have to be fit to access upper floors! Rooms were small but there was space around the bed. There were problems in the bathroom - as the shower is not separated off the whole floor gets wet when showering, there was a leak in the shower mixer, but overall it worked out well.
Value for money. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

To breath in the city life this is the perfect hotel. It has the right location and trendy design. Everything is walking distance and we rented 1 day bikes insteat going by tram. This time we had a room on the gardensite, that is a bit bigger and quiet. We dont mind walking stairs, but if you do, you should let them know in your reservation. There could be alot of stairs.. :)
Beautiful design, clean and friendly people. We had breakfast all 4 mornings. Last morning we had to departure before breakfast hours, but our breakfast was prepared anyway.
A young guy working there nows everything about the night life in Amsterdam. He made sure our names came on the guestlist of a couple of amazing clubs.
We will be back.

Room Tip: Quiet room on the gardensite. Old or bad fysic? ask for room without walkning to many stairs. Alth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

The room was disgusting. Poorly lit very dark, when turning on the lights it made no difference. It was still very dark the lights and had lots of flies inside the lamp the window was blocked by trees and a huge wall so no daylight could get in. The room was dark and dingy. The room looked like it had never been cleaned. The carpet was dirty there was dust on the tables, chairs and bed head. The doors and walls were scummy and dirty. The bed was horrible it was dirty with lots of hairs and stains. The mini fridge inside was dirty would not purchase anything from there. The cleaner barely came in on a daily basis and only gave us towels and if requested he would give us sheets but did not clean anything. The TV was to high up to be viewed comfortably from anywhere in the room. The side table was broken. This was a non smoking room but we could constantly smell cigarette smoke in our room throughout the day. The curtain was very dirty full of dust and the window legde was also dirty there were dead flies and mosquitos collecting in the room. The smell of sewage from the bathroom was horrible. The bathroom was poorly maintianed and disgusting. Hairs in the shower, the walls had residue from previous guests, the toilet was stained and dirty. Sink was very small. The airvent was full of dirt and spores. The room was very hot and the air was very stuffy. If the window was opened mosquitos would come in. Overall it was a depressing, dark and dingy place to go back to every night while enjoying the city of Amsterdam. Was not value for money. Very expensive for a budget hotel with its lack of service. Wi fi signal was terrible

Room Tip: Wouldn't recommend staying here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I have just returned from my short stay in Amsterdam. I chose this hotel for location and price, but I have come away disappointed with the accommodation. I checked in around 18:00 on the Sat. My plans where to meet friends so I was going to have a shower first ! well that's what I thought ! the shower was leaking to the extent it was unserviceable, not what you want. I informed the receptionist and was told ill have it fixed, not good enough, surely when the previous guests checked out at 11:00 in the morning my room should of been cleaned which would of resulted in finding the problem. I was given no alternative to have a shower that evening. I was hoping of having a good night rest but not to be! They might as well dressed a concrete block! The mattress was unbelievably hard and had no comfort. I was charged €115 not including breakfast , I really felt it was not worth the money .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I've read a few mixed views on this hotel but to be honest if you stay in a hotel in a city you need to accommodate price vs location. Acostar hotel was an ideal base to see the real city from. Once you have got a map and bearings you realise how close you are to everything. The hotel itself has 2 sides, street and quiet and to be fair it is a city hotel and you should accept the fact it may be a bit noisy of a night time depending on when you go to bed..Again , it is a city hotel and rooms are well kept but small, but hey we only used it for sleeping and showering. Plenty of restraunts and bars in the locality, friendly too.. So many things to see and do we will be going back iminetley.. We flew flew KLM from Manston airport kent, 35 mins in the air, off to baggage claim onto a train, into central station 55 mins total.. So quick....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The instructions of how to get to the hotel from their website are easy to follow and the journey is quick and cheap. NB you buy the tram tickets on the tram, an hour ticket or a day ticket. The reception staff are very helpful and friendly and you can leave your luggage there if, like us, you arrive much too early to check in.
The location is excellent as you can walk to everything you need, even back to Central Station if you want to.
The rooms vary in size. Our friends were lucky enough to get room 106, which is big and ours was a bit smaller but perfectly adequate. The bathroom is a wet room. There is no hairdryer so you need to take one with you. Toiletries are provided but not topped up, one small bottle of shower cream per person. Towels are provided and changed. The wardrobe is very small but perfectly adequate for a stay of a few days. The room is perfectly clean and a TV is provided that shows English channels.
Breakfast is good and eat as much as you want. You can ask for fried eggs or omelettes and there are thin sausages, scrambled egg, kidney beans. There are boiled eggs, cereals, croissants, rolls, cheese, ham, jam, juice and tea and coffee. The breakfast area is very clean and pleasant.
For the price paid and the excellent location, near to the museums, Anne Frank House and lots of bars and very reasonably priced restaurants, the Acostar is a real star.
We recommend the free walking tour from Dam Square or from outside the Information Centre near the Central Station. Look for a guide with a red top, or lanyard.
We had a great trip; we hope you do too.

Room Tip: Room 106 is large and on the back of the hotel so it's quiet. Also not too many stairs as no li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Atlanta Hotel
Atlanta Hotel
#284 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 334 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel The Golden Bear
Hotel The Golden Bear
#250 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 272 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
ITC Hotel
ITC Hotel
#252 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
Amsterdam Downtown Hotel
#255 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 stars 179 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Wilhelmina
Hotel Wilhelmina
#161 of 321 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 176 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Sharm Hotel
Sharm Hotel
#175 of 321 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Acostar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acostar Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 45-49, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel) , Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #222 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acostar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Otel and Agoda so you can book your Acostar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acostar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.