We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location made up for the small room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Acostar Hotel

Save Saved
You added Acostar Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Acostar Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 45-49, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #200 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Location made up for the small room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

At first we were a bit disappointed by the hotel, as the room was nothing like the one featured on their website. It was very small, with a wardrobe the size of a shoebox, but was clean and neat. We found the staff very helpful and friendly, especially those on reception. As we were on the 5th floor (with very steep steps!) it was also very quiet, and having two big skylights made the room light and airy, which helped.
The key thing with this hotel is the location - we walked there from the train station, and were near enough to pop into the centre of Amsterdam within easy walking distance, but were also within walking distance of the Rijkmuseum and Van Gogh museum, which was the main reason for the trip. Leidesplein, with it's great range of shops, was literally just round the corner.
The buffet breakfast was good too, particularly the coffee.

Room Tip: Think we had the smallest one, which was up five flights of very steep stairs (no lift) so only go f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    85
    76
    35
    28
See reviews for
16
124
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The location is very good as there are many bars and cafes nearby as well as the main tram line to the station and Dam Square.

The hotel itself is clean and checking in/out was very efficient. The rooms were much smaller than expected and the walls are thin so it can be hard to get a good nights sleep. There aren't any hot drink making facilities in the room, which is a negative. The stairs are very steep and there isn't a lift so beware if you have had a few at the end of the night ;>)

The hotel was okay but I prefer previous hotels that were at a similar price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Despite the oh-so reviews, decided to stay at Acostar Hotel since I found out it was very close to Leidseplein. Check in was fine and I got a room on the first floor, adjacent to the reception room. Was quite large for one person and could have easily been fine for two and even for a child if a cot was to be placed there. Had a window overlooking an alcove. Clean sheets, good water pressure, basic breakfast. A three minute leisurely walk to Leidseplein, many shops, drugstores around the corner. Tram No. 2 stops a few steps away. No complaints and would stay there again. No problems with the reception staff as some of the other reviewers seem to have had.

Room Tip: Get the room by the reception if you have luggage that you don't want to carry a few sets of sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My partner and I recently stayed at Acostar on the advice of people posting on trip advisor. We arrived at the hotel at approximately 8pm, checked in and paid for 3 nights of tourist tax, which somehow came to 19.95 euros, when we were told it is 8 euros per day.
The next morning, on our way out, we were asked by reception to pay the tax that we had already paid. The woman was very patronising and condescending towards us. We produced our receipt but it didn't show that we had paid the tax!
Also our room had no soap, shampoo or facewashers and the toilet roll was half used.
The mini bar was missing stock , which we are afraid we will be made to pay for when we check out.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We were a little bit concerned about staying here after we seen some bad reviews but i don't see any of the problems that people commented on, we stayed on the 3rd floor, our room was spacious and had a fantastic bathroom, towels were changed daily and the bed was made, i don't know why people complain about bed sheets not being changed daily...well you would change them everyday at home would you?! We stayed for breakfast only on one morning, good selection can't really complain it filled me up ready for a day of sight seeing!! This hotel it's literally in the heart of Amsterdam and really close to all major attractions never to far to walk. Overall we had a fantastic stay the staff were extremely friendly and we would definatly stay here again if we were ever to stay in Amsterdam again!! 5*, be aware that there is no lift and the stairs are quite steep!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

It was my first visit to Amsterdam, so it's hard to compare this to other places. I payed about 110Euro. The room looked nothing like that on the website. It was miniature. Impossible to even put my luggage in it. Fortunately it was just me, so I shared my bed with one of my luggage pieces. My room was right beside the stairwell, so I heard the door slamming constantly. The voices from the hallway were extremely loud. The bed was fine and the linens were fine.

The customer service at the front desk was very good and they were very friendly.

I would probably try somewhere else unless you can confirm one of the nice rooms that the market in their photos.

Room Tip: Make sure it is not the basic room and make sure it is away from the stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed for a long weekend in the Acostar hotel, which was a very nice experience. The purpose of our stay was visiting our family, but as the hotel's location is right in the center we had the possibility to enjoy the beauties of the city as well. I was 6 months pregnant and they were very nice, because they gave us a room on the ground floor, which was very comfortable that I din't have to walk the stairs. The room was spacious enough, clean, nice bathroom, with free bathroom amenities (shampoo, body lotion). The breakfast was very nice in the morning, you can order fried eggs or omelettes included in the breakfast price. The location is very touristical, right by Leidseplein, the heart of the city. All the main tourist attractions are a short walk from the hotel. Would stay there again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acostar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acostar Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 45-49, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #200 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Acostar Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Acostar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acostar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.