We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great city life” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Acostar Hotel

Save Saved
You added Acostar Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Acostar Hotel
2.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 45-49, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #201 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great city life”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Stayed in acostar was only ok, great location an great value but would recommend to rent an apartment as rooms were small even thou your not there that much!! Great city to walk around, plenty to do an see an eat an smoke!!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    85
    76
    35
    28
See reviews for
16
124
20
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Agra, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The location of this hotel is really great. However, I really would not recommend it duento : Dirty rooms; linen and towels were old and full of holes; Windows let wind escape- and it was -5 degrees outside!; there is no lift, so we had to carry the suitcases for four floors (no help was offered by the staff); in our last night there was a birthday party at the restaurant of the hotel, and it ended very late. As one of our rooms was in the basement, we could hear all the songs, and our ceiling would be making noises as people were dancing. When the party was over, it seems like they were cleaning up and storing things in the basement- so they would be slamming doors and talking really loudly. It was impossible to sleep.
The next day, the hotel did not manage to prepare the breakfast at the established time (8am), as they were still apparently cleaning up the place - which was still stinking due to cigarettes and alcohol- and due to the party.
In general, we found it very inadequate.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at thenground floor, as there is no lift. The room in the basement is not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel has a perfect location right in the heart of Amsterdam. We stayed in room 502 the penthouse suite. 5th floor, no elevator. The room was not really big as I was expecting. Nice bath tub, but the shower could be using some more power. Also the stone pavement in the bathroom was too cold to walk on... Would be nice if it was heated.
The staff was very cold and not helpful at all. One morning I asked some suggestion about what is a traditional place to have breakfast in town and the lady at reception said: "you can have breakfast here at our hotel". Refusing to give any other suggestion. Everytime we asked for something it looked like a pain for them. Not a warm welcome at all.
Other than that, the view from our window was nice, although they should be working on their heaters... Little too cold.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The hotel is located within walking distance of Prinsengracht, Leidesplein ( 9streets).This is where u shud be in Amsterdam! You can walk around the beautiful canals and shops, coffee houses.It was literally walking distance everywhere and a 10 min tram ride from central station .If you dont feel like walking catch a tram from just across the street.The room was nice warm and clean and they even provide a cup of free tea/coffee in the morning :)
Enjoyed our stay..no complaints!

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room with the huge window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Stay here between christmas and new year, great location, easy to find.
stayed in 401 - good view arcoss the rooftops of the city.
breakfast not great.
nice bathroom, warm shower water, not hot! nice flooring - like a wet room.
good tv channels, easy to work the heating too.
was quiet noisy but thats due to the great location. still managed to get decent night sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Beware room numbers ending in 06! As admitted by the management in the hotel itself, these are the worst rooms in terms of size, meaning, there's enough space to manoeuvre around the bed but not much more.
We, a middle-aged couple who had booked in advance, were put into 206 at the front of the hotel. It barely contained the double bed, but as we loved the location (watching the comings and goings over the road at the local gay men's sauna - fascinating!) we really didn't mind the lack of space. The lack of any coat hooks or hanging space was a little surprising, though.
Then, we opened the bathroom door to be greeted by a waft of sewerage and a helpfully left-behind bottle of room deodorant. Hey, this is Amsterdam, you understand that the plumbing is patchwork at best and expect these aromas to pass after running the shower and getting the water flowing. We gave them the benefit of the doubt.
Less than 20mins into the room and there's a knock at the door and the person enters the room before I finish saying, 'coming!'. My partner chases the embarrassed man down the hallway after he retreated in terror only to discover it was the hotel's owner, scoping rooms to put minibars into.
Following morning, I do my best to enjoy a tepid (winter) shower - the taps made no sense, but there was definitely a problem with them as the shower pipes were boiling hot. We inform management, partner gets a hot shower in an adjacent room, and we're told it will be fixed by the afternoon. We also tell them about the sewerage smell, which hasn't abated, possibly caused by a crack in the pedestal. "All will be fixed!"
They fix the shower. Smell smacks us in the face the following morning as the cleaning staff are doing the rounds so Partner rounds one up to again mention the smell only to see over his shoulder that there were other rooms much better kitted out and spacious than ours - and we were paying as much for the sulphurous matchbox!
We request, and get, a much better room at the back of the hotel, albeit, a twin, for our last 2 nights. Door lock broken, can't be locked from inside. Sorted within 15mins by the Owner's son.
Upon checking out, we find the Owner checking an older couple into room 206, despite his awareness of the problem with the toilet, and putting a bunch of young back-packers into the better rooms. My Partner spoke to the couple, advising them to change the room which set off the Owner into a tirade of abuse being hurled at us which ended with, "get out of my hotel you piece of [--]!"
Why? Because he was more interested in the welfare of his bottom line than he was concerned about giving appropriate customer service to his paying, international customers, and this un-evolved attitude has unfortunately filtered down through the majority of his staff, excluding his son.
Great location, however.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acostar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acostar Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 45-49, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Jordaan
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #201 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Acostar Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Acostar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acostar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.