We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than Others” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Acostar Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Acostar Hotel to your Saves list
Acostar Hotel
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Kerkstraat 45-49, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Rembrandtplein)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 323 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
84 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Better than Others”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2012

I stayed here having stayed at another property a couple of doors down. The rooms are a decent size and the bathroom is clean and tidy.

There's great cafes down the road to enjoy breakfast, lunch or dinners and enjoy the canal views. I didn't try the hotel breakfast since Amsterdam has so much to offer.

The hotel itself is clean, neat and tidy and the service is efficient. If you don't like loud noise, best not to come to Amsterdam as this hotel is in a busy area and the sound of people leaving the nightclub across the road is to be expected into the early hours of the morning. Best time to sleep is just before and after sunrise!

Would stay here again - was decent value in an expensive and vibrant city!

Room Tip: Upstairs and towards the back of the hotel away from the noise of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    105
    102
    54
    51
See reviews for
20
166
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheddar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Over all this hotel had everything we wanted. We went as a group of 6, ( 2 couples and 2 friends). The location was great with so much on our doorstep, everything you could ask for and only a 15mins walk to the center.
The hotel staff were friendly and helpful and having a 24h reception was useful.
The rooms themselves were modern and comfortable ours had a great shower. Its was super cold when we were there and still the room as warm and cosy.
My only negatives would be the amount of stairs we were on the 3rd floor and after a day out.they were a killer, other than that maybe they could clean under the bed.
on the whole I would stay again and recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed at Acostar for 4 nights. On arrival we were told they did not have a double (as we had requested) but only a twin...... On requesting if there was a double we could swap to they said there was "the room downstairs" available. It ended up being two twin beds with a double headboard but I understand that this is what is stated as a double. However the basement room was clean, basic but quite big (certainly in comparison to pics of other rooms I have seen in hotel). Another bonus was that it was tucked away from other rooms and we did not have any disturbance from streets outside as other reviewers had complained. However we were woken up by the sound of the waiter running up and down the stairs in the morning during Breakfast service ...... however it did mean that we got up and out!!! We had breadfast included, which was well worth it as very adequate and they were happy to cook eggs/omeletes on request. As food prices in Amsterdam as everything else is quite expensive, we found the breakfast good value. Have a lovely time in Amsterdam . If you are looking for a reasonably priced, basic but comfortable room in a great location, the Acostar is a good choice. If you want luxury ..... go elsewhere..Enjoy

Room Tip: The basement room appears to be larger than many other rooms and is located away from the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

I must start out by saying that all of the hotels in the center of Amsterdam are small. A big huge room is not something your going to find unless you spend a small fortune. The Acostar was perfect for 2 adults. Out of all of the hotels we stayed at in Europe this was by far the most comfortable bed we had. The service was not as bad as everyone says. They just didn't go out of there way to help. So if you don't have large demands it should be fine. I liked the ambiance that surrounded this hotel. My husband didn't even mind the Gay Church that was located across the street. It was quite entertaining. The location was wonderful with lots of shopping, sightseeing and restaurants near by. You can't go wrong at this property.

Room Tip: The higher floors have the nicer rooms!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

nice hotel BUT the staff is unfriendly and unhelful.
we had a problem with our room,we had no hot water in the shower
and they didn't help us,the didn't gave us another room or gave us another solution
dont go there if you like to take a hot shower !!

Room Tip: just don't choose
See more room tips
Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

The hotel is just located in the center of everything, several steps to the restaurants and shops, close to the tram stop. Like most of the hotels in Amsterdam, the room is tiny and I could only put my suitcase behind the door and had to move it before go in/out, no elevator in the old building. Breakfast was not included in the package, but I got a lot of choice nearby. So no worries.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

I spent three nights here in October, to attend a course in central Amsterdam. Relatively easy to find - easily walkable from central railway station. The receptionist was polite and helpful, but a tourist tax was required up front (hadn't realised, but around 12 Euro for three nights). Rom at the top of the hotel was a bit of a climb. Room itself was quite small, but comfortable. The shower/toilet rather cramped, but served its purpose. At night there is a nightclub, which is busy from 11pm until 3am. This was rather noisy, despite being on the top floor. Breakfast was absolutely fine - slightly limited choice, but perfectly adequate. WiFi provided free of charge. Overall good for location, but shame about the club. I would have preferred a better night's sleep.

Room Tip: If you can avoid a room facing the night club, should be a good choice for reasonably central Amster...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Acostar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acostar Hotel

Address: Kerkstraat 45-49, 1017 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Rembrandtplein
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #224 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Acostar Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Acostar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acostar Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.