We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stylish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Remise

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Remise to your Saves list
La Remise
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Noorderstraat 74, 1017 TW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 323 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“stylish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with kids. Very stylish and spacious. Bathrooms were excellent. The owner was very helpful. Breakfast was great. Good location, few minutes away from Van Gogh museum and trendy night spots. There were great places to eat near by too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    33
    12
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
77
6
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I loved this place in general.It is located in a quiet street in one of the most beautiful districts in Amsterdam.Great conections to everywhere in the city,we walked from there to the most touristic places but the street and the area were quiet and residential.The room was clean and minimalist style.All great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Fantastically situated for easy access to all Amsterdam has to offer. The room we stayed in was in the attic this was modern, warm, spacious and the bathroom/wet room was one of the best we have had (we have stayed in some very expensive hotels). The continental breakfast was great, with eggs made to your liking!! Excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a very pleasant B&B which is ideally located for the main sites of Amsterdam. Our room was the Chambre Blanche (situated at the top of some very steep wooden stairs) decorated tastefully in the minimalist style. Storage space was minimal but adequate for a short stay.
Breakfast was continental in style and perfectly sufficient. I know I'm nitpicking but for the price some tea/coffee making facilities would have been welcome.
Alexandre was very welcoming and we enjoyed our stay very much. We will almost certainly return. La Remise had a nice intimate feeling not always present in larger hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This has got to be one of my favorite hotels I've ever stayed at. We actually arrived way too early and the guests who were staying in our room the night were checking out as we were leaving. But we had afternoon tickets to the Concertgebouw and needed to wash the travel stink off of us. Even though the earlier guests had just departed and the room hadn't even been cleaned yet, Alexandre was nice enough to put our stuff in the room and use the bathroom to take a quick shower before the performance.

The room: We stayed in Chambre Nord which was immaculate and well furnished. Even the blankets felt luxurious. The bathroom looks like it is straight out of a high end design magazine. The bed was huge - it must've been a California king and was extremely comfy. There's also a chair and a closet to hang your clothes. Though the hotel doesn't have river views, the view is of the very quaint street that the hotel is on.

The hotel: Essentially, this is a typical Amsterdam flat that was converted into a B&B. There are 3 bedrooms each with their own bathroom and a kitchen at the top of the stairs. Oh, and like a typical Amsterdam flat, the stairs are numerous and very tiny and steep. I never woke up early enough but they serve breakfast in the kitchen every morning. The kitchen is pretty much the only communal space there.

The neighborhood: it's in a quiet, picturesque residential neighborhood though it's not far from anywhere you need to go. It's an easy 10 minute walk to the museums, De Wallen, etc.

Since this B&B is a converted flat in a non-touristy neighborhood, this place is for the traveler who wants to feel like they're living in Amsterdam. If you want to know what it would feel like to live in this wonderful city, you should definitely stay at La Remise. If you want to be pampered and have 24 hour room service, you should stay at the Hilton. (I believe Alexandre, the proprietor, lives in the unit below the B&B, but not necessarily on the premises).

I want to go back to Amsterdam just so that I can stay at La Remise again!

Room Tip: Stay in Chambre Nord or Sud. I believe that Chambre Blanche is the one at the top of the stairs rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayjtardy, Owner at La Remise, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much, it was a pleasure having you. We hope to see you on your next visit.
Kind regards,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

I Was slightly worried before we arrived at the la remise. I am a keen tripadvisor reader so when I seen there hadnt been a review since October I just had to hope I had made the right choice for our new year get away.
My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights here over new year and this place can not be faulty.
Situated on a quiet neighbourhood street 500 yards for the Heineken museum and about the same from the flower market you are right in the heart of it without being too close.
The room we stayed in was beautiful..think boutique hotel.

The owners here have done a amazing job.

The second they open there first 10 room hotel, I will be booking a room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for three nights this week. The room was exactly as pictured on tripadvisor, if not better looking in person. The best part was the bathroom with its rainwater-like shower head, upscale look and space - lots of space!. The B&B is on a quiet street with a kindergarten very nearby and we were woken by the sound of laughing children each morning. Normally I would say this is a negative, but it got us up for breakfast served between 8 and 9:30am.

Highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to La Remise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Remise

Address: Noorderstraat 74, 1017 TW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Remise 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Bed & Breakfast la Remise hosts 3 spacious double rooms with contemporary décor and state-of-the-art amenities, such as free wireless Internet access. In this stylish setting, guests will enjoy the privacy of a home-away-from-home combined with the luxury of the best Design and Boutique Hotels in Amsterdam. Before starting a wonderful day of visits and sightseeing, come and enjoy a hearty breakfast served in the sunny attic room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Splendia and Odigeo so you can book your La Remise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Remise Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Remise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.