We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT LOCATION AND MINIMALIST STYLE” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Remise

Save Saved
You added La Remise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Remise
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Noorderstraat 74, 1017 TW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #80 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“GREAT LOCATION AND MINIMALIST STYLE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I loved this place in general.It is located in a quiet street in one of the most beautiful districts in Amsterdam.Great conections to everywhere in the city,we walked from there to the most touristic places but the street and the area were quiet and residential.The room was clean and minimalist style.All great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    28
    11
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
63
6
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Fantastically situated for easy access to all Amsterdam has to offer. The room we stayed in was in the attic this was modern, warm, spacious and the bathroom/wet room was one of the best we have had (we have stayed in some very expensive hotels). The continental breakfast was great, with eggs made to your liking!! Excellent value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is a very pleasant B&B which is ideally located for the main sites of Amsterdam. Our room was the Chambre Blanche (situated at the top of some very steep wooden stairs) decorated tastefully in the minimalist style. Storage space was minimal but adequate for a short stay.
Breakfast was continental in style and perfectly sufficient. I know I'm nitpicking but for the price some tea/coffee making facilities would have been welcome.
Alexandre was very welcoming and we enjoyed our stay very much. We will almost certainly return. La Remise had a nice intimate feeling not always present in larger hotels.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This has got to be one of my favorite hotels I've ever stayed at. We actually arrived way too early and the guests who were staying in our room the night were checking out as we were leaving. But we had afternoon tickets to the Concertgebouw and needed to wash the travel stink off of us. Even though the earlier guests had just departed and the room hadn't even been cleaned yet, Alexandre was nice enough to put our stuff in the room and use the bathroom to take a quick shower before the performance.

The room: We stayed in Chambre Nord which was immaculate and well furnished. Even the blankets felt luxurious. The bathroom looks like it is straight out of a high end design magazine. The bed was huge - it must've been a California king and was extremely comfy. There's also a chair and a closet to hang your clothes. Though the hotel doesn't have river views, the view is of the very quaint street that the hotel is on.

The hotel: Essentially, this is a typical Amsterdam flat that was converted into a B&B. There are 3 bedrooms each with their own bathroom and a kitchen at the top of the stairs. Oh, and like a typical Amsterdam flat, the stairs are numerous and very tiny and steep. I never woke up early enough but they serve breakfast in the kitchen every morning. The kitchen is pretty much the only communal space there.

The neighborhood: it's in a quiet, picturesque residential neighborhood though it's not far from anywhere you need to go. It's an easy 10 minute walk to the museums, De Wallen, etc.

Since this B&B is a converted flat in a non-touristy neighborhood, this place is for the traveler who wants to feel like they're living in Amsterdam. If you want to know what it would feel like to live in this wonderful city, you should definitely stay at La Remise. If you want to be pampered and have 24 hour room service, you should stay at the Hilton. (I believe Alexandre, the proprietor, lives in the unit below the B&B, but not necessarily on the premises).

I want to go back to Amsterdam just so that I can stay at La Remise again!

Room Tip: Stay in Chambre Nord or Sud. I believe that Chambre Blanche is the one at the top of the stairs rig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ayjtardy, Owner at La Remise, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Thank you so much, it was a pleasure having you. We hope to see you on your next visit.
Kind regards,
Alex
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

I Was slightly worried before we arrived at the la remise. I am a keen tripadvisor reader so when I seen there hadnt been a review since October I just had to hope I had made the right choice for our new year get away.
My girlfriend and I spent 3 nights here over new year and this place can not be faulty.
Situated on a quiet neighbourhood street 500 yards for the Heineken museum and about the same from the flower market you are right in the heart of it without being too close.
The room we stayed in was beautiful..think boutique hotel.

The owners here have done a amazing job.

The second they open there first 10 room hotel, I will be booking a room.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed for three nights this week. The room was exactly as pictured on tripadvisor, if not better looking in person. The best part was the bathroom with its rainwater-like shower head, upscale look and space - lots of space!. The B&B is on a quiet street with a kindergarten very nearby and we were woken by the sound of laughing children each morning. Normally I would say this is a negative, but it got us up for breakfast served between 8 and 9:30am.

Highly recommend this B&B

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

There is no reception, so you have to arrange a time, but arriving at 22.30 didn't cause Alexandre a problem not did getting there a bit early. The rooms are immaculate and beautifully furnished...chambre sud has a bath tub if you are wondering what the difference is, but you'll be suitably impressed with chambre nord too.

The building is typical of Amsterdam - it has steep staircases. It is also wooden floored, so if you dont have the same sleeping patterns as the rest of the guests you might find the footfall a bit noisy if you're trying to sleep.

The only disappointment was breakfast. The food was good, but needed replenishing both mornings we were there and rather than being done as things run out...you have to ask. Once you did, there was always more available, but it just gives a feeling of cutting corners when everything else is so good.

Room Tip: Chambre nord, although facing the street, is probably least affected by the noise of the other guest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Remise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Remise

Address: Noorderstraat 74, 1017 TW Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Stadsdeel Zuid
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Remise 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The exclusive Bed & Breakfast la Remise hosts 3 spacious double rooms with contemporary décor and state-of-the-art amenities, such as free wireless Internet access. In this stylish setting, guests will enjoy the privacy of a home-away-from-home combined with the luxury of the best Design and Boutique Hotels in Amsterdam. Before starting a wonderful day of visits and sightseeing, come and enjoy a hearty breakfast served in the sunny attic room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your La Remise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Remise Hotel Amsterdam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Remise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.