We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally, a decent tapas bar in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tapas Bar Catala

Tapas Bar Catala
Spuistraat 299, Amsterdam 1012 VS, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
+31 20 623 1141
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #646 of 2,144 restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $28 - $41
Cuisines: Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Dam Square
Description: ABOUT THE TAPAS BAR CATALA AMSTERDAM Situated in a characteristic old building in the heart of Amsterdam, this small Tapas Bar opened its doors 20 years ago. After enjoying some traditional Catalan Tapas or savouring a delicious plate of grilled shell-fish, you can easily visit the Dam, Flowermarket, the Leidseplein or Rembrandtplein, as they are all within walking distance. Our staff will be happy to advise you!
Singapore
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Finally, a decent tapas bar in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

After a first mediocre tapas experience in Amsterdam, I thought I'd give it another go.

And I was glad this one didn't disappoint.

You can either order mains from the menu, or head inside and peek around the counter and choose your preferred tapas.

I decided I'd give the mains a miss and ordered warm tapas instead. So I opted for the paella, the octopus with peas, and mussels, and sat outside for a spot of people watching. Have to say, I quite enjoyed the entire experience, really.

The food was rather tasty, and the portions are just right for a single diner. Order more and enjoy greater variety if you have friends to share.

I have to admit that there's isn't a wide selection of tapas, but enough. And I left the restaurant full and happy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabiota T, Public Relations Manager at Tapas Bar Catala, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback, it help us to contstantly improve our quality, service and reputation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    22
    20
    10
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great authentic spanish cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Popped in on the off chance for food one night. Waiter was very friendly and knowledgable about the dishes. Ordered 3 plates to share and a bottle of wine, reasonably priced. Tasted exactly like traditional spanish tapas. Would definately return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Expensive "dutch style" Tapas”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

the first site upon arrival is a large Heineken Beer Tap - not a promising start! (Spanish beers were available by the bottle). The helpful staff then guided us through the tapas on the counter. The Squid/Peas combo was a tiny plate of peas with maybe 3 miniature pieces of squid included.The paella was overly yellow in colour and not appealing. Better were the freshly prepared items, excellent sirloin (but 18 euros!) and fried chorizo. the menu was a confusing mixture and didn't actually list many tapas items! Ok we had 2 beers and 2 bottles of wine but for two people 5 shared small dishes came to Euro 120 !

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
amsterdam
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“excellent authentic tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

I have frequented this establisment on several occasion. The tapas have never let me down. The quality is good and service excellent. The bar has a great Spanish feel to it.
I can reccommenf Pulpo a la Galega and Calamares for lovers of seafood. The home made bread is also particularly good. Excellent choice of wines, cava a beers. This is one of the few tapas bars I have visited outside of Spain that can truly call itself an authentic tapas bar.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excelent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

One of my favourite restaurants in Amsterdam. The rasor clams are excelent if they have them. The service is very good and the Tapas are reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Tapas Bar Catala also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Tapas Bar Catala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tapas Bar Catala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.