We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hostel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Hotelboat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Hotelboat
Save
You added Amsterdam Hotelboat to your Saves list
Postbus 16645 | Oosterdok, steiger 3, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied))   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
pg
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“best hostel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

The best hostel in Amsterdam, very clean and warm. Stuff is very pleasant, actually they are owners and they are always near to help you with everything you need. They provide you with a city map and very useful inside tips.
It really felt like home.
Also, you can help yourself with water and beer or juice on a very low price. You can buy even an umbrella at the hostel.
Breakfast is very good considering that its just a hostel.
Absolutely terrific.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    21
    9
    0
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
24
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you are looking for a budget hotel in Amsterdam, this is a good option. 10-15 minute walk from the Central station. The room also comes with breakfast. Very small room with double decks but it is clean. The toilet and bath are shared and although small, they are kept clean. The owners are very nice. They will help you with directions or transportation options and give you a map.

If you however is sensitive to noise and early sleeper, this isn't the place for you. You will hear footsteps from all over, from the dining/main area, the rooms, the toilet, especially for people who for some reason I think are purposely making noises. I can hear the chatters from the main floor and from the room beside me. I couldn't sleep until 2am when everybody are either out clubbing or tired and asleep.

Breakfast is rather served late I think, at 8:30am. If you have tickets at 9am, you will skip breakfast or risk being late. You may ask the owner to give you discount with breakfast if you think you are not able to take it at the hostel.

Room Tip: I don't know if there is a room that is noise free. I stayed in the middle which is supposed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay - it is very close to Centraal Station (which makes travelling around very easy), it's clean, cosy and friendly.

The owners are lovely and very knowledgeable, they provide you with a city map and tell you where all the main attractions are. Also there's a stand filled with mini discount cards that will give you 10% off at a lot of main attractions/restaurants.

The breakfast is the typical meat, bread and cheese which sets you up for a day of walking around Amsterdam. The owners also gave us a packed breakfast as we had to leave very early!

The rooms are pretty small and the walls are quite thin so it can be a bit noisy, but I think, being on a boat, it's just something you have to deal with.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The room is very comfortable but the bed may be a tad short for taller person. The hotel is very clean and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Every morning they serve great breakfast and the common area is a very pleasant place to be. The location is very good as well as it is just 10 minutes walk from the Central Station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Really good idea for a hostel, very clean and tidy. Helpful friendly staff and excellent breakfast. Room are tiny but sufficient. Toilet and shower facilities excellent - actually the shower was the best hostel shower I've ever used, great pressure considering its on a boat... Decent free wifi. Only negative is in my experience the sleep quality was terrible, as everything is wooden every sound is amplified so you can hear people clomping up and down the corridors all night long, and other residents talking all night. Room 17 is directly below the little kitchen, we were woken up at 6:30 am by the woman preparing the (excellent) breakfast, it actually sounded like she was wearing clogs and doing the riverdance it was so load. Sleep was impossible.

Room Tip: As far away from the kitchen as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I found this accommodation at short notice so was pleased with the pricing. The breakfast was ok and the hosts are great. They offered assistance on transport and were very kind to leave my room unlocked with my bag inside when I stayed out much too late on my first night in town.
There is no nearby tram, you have to walk about 10min to town but it is near the Orange Bike rental company.

Room Tip: Room 1 is right next to the shower and toilets so can be a bit loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My boyfriend had booked the Hotel Boat t add a different experience to our trip. I was rather hesitant as I wasn't sure how weep. I would do in a confined space however, it was ten times better than expected.

The Hotel Boat was clean and fresh with a nice breakfast every morning and a great location. Room sizes were also a lot bigger than expected.

Would certainly stay again! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Amstel Botel
#200 of 356 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hostelboat Anna Maria II
Hostelboat Anna Maria II
#102 of 201 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Hotelboat Fiep
Hotelboat Fiep
#115 of 321 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Vita Nova
Vita Nova
#153 of 321 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 162 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
AmicitiA
AmicitiA
#65 of 201 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 139 reviews
Centrum
Hotelboot Angeline
Hotelboot Angeline
#78 of 321 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amsterdam Hotelboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotelboat

Address: Postbus 16645 | Oosterdok, steiger 3, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied) , Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Hotelboat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.