We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget hotel near Amsterdam Centraal Station” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Hotelboat

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amsterdam Hotelboat
Save
You added Amsterdam Hotelboat to your Saves list
Postbus 16645 | Oosterdok, steiger 3, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #113 of 321 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Baltimore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Budget hotel near Amsterdam Centraal Station”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

If you are looking for a budget hotel in Amsterdam, this is a good option. 10-15 minute walk from the Central station. The room also comes with breakfast. Very small room with double decks but it is clean. The toilet and bath are shared and although small, they are kept clean. The owners are very nice. They will help you with directions or transportation options and give you a map.

If you however is sensitive to noise and early sleeper, this isn't the place for you. You will hear footsteps from all over, from the dining/main area, the rooms, the toilet, especially for people who for some reason I think are purposely making noises. I can hear the chatters from the main floor and from the room beside me. I couldn't sleep until 2am when everybody are either out clubbing or tired and asleep.

Breakfast is rather served late I think, at 8:30am. If you have tickets at 9am, you will skip breakfast or risk being late. You may ask the owner to give you discount with breakfast if you think you are not able to take it at the hostel.

Room Tip: I don't know if there is a room that is noise free. I stayed in the middle which is supposed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    19
    8
    0
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
22
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luton
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay - it is very close to Centraal Station (which makes travelling around very easy), it's clean, cosy and friendly.

The owners are lovely and very knowledgeable, they provide you with a city map and tell you where all the main attractions are. Also there's a stand filled with mini discount cards that will give you 10% off at a lot of main attractions/restaurants.

The breakfast is the typical meat, bread and cheese which sets you up for a day of walking around Amsterdam. The owners also gave us a packed breakfast as we had to leave very early!

The rooms are pretty small and the walls are quite thin so it can be a bit noisy, but I think, being on a boat, it's just something you have to deal with.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The room is very comfortable but the bed may be a tad short for taller person. The hotel is very clean and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Every morning they serve great breakfast and the common area is a very pleasant place to be. The location is very good as well as it is just 10 minutes walk from the Central Station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Really good idea for a hostel, very clean and tidy. Helpful friendly staff and excellent breakfast. Room are tiny but sufficient. Toilet and shower facilities excellent - actually the shower was the best hostel shower I've ever used, great pressure considering its on a boat... Decent free wifi. Only negative is in my experience the sleep quality was terrible, as everything is wooden every sound is amplified so you can hear people clomping up and down the corridors all night long, and other residents talking all night. Room 17 is directly below the little kitchen, we were woken up at 6:30 am by the woman preparing the (excellent) breakfast, it actually sounded like she was wearing clogs and doing the riverdance it was so load. Sleep was impossible.

Room Tip: As far away from the kitchen as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I found this accommodation at short notice so was pleased with the pricing. The breakfast was ok and the hosts are great. They offered assistance on transport and were very kind to leave my room unlocked with my bag inside when I stayed out much too late on my first night in town.
There is no nearby tram, you have to walk about 10min to town but it is near the Orange Bike rental company.

Room Tip: Room 1 is right next to the shower and toilets so can be a bit loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My boyfriend had booked the Hotel Boat t add a different experience to our trip. I was rather hesitant as I wasn't sure how weep. I would do in a confined space however, it was ten times better than expected.

The Hotel Boat was clean and fresh with a nice breakfast every morning and a great location. Room sizes were also a lot bigger than expected.

Would certainly stay again! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California & The World
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Staying on the Amsterdam Hotelboat was quite a unique experience. Located a short 10 minute walk from Central Station, it was very convenient for accessing the heart of Amsterdam. We did not arrive until 11:30 in the evening, and the owner was waiting to welcome us.

The room itself was tiny. The smallest one we had during our travels throughout Europe. Barely enough floor space to put our luggage, so keep that in mind if you are traveling with lots of bags. There was a small sink & mirror in the room, which was helpful. We did not use the shower facilities, but they looked clean and well maintained. Don't worry about the boat being on the water, as it did not move, and so no need to be concerned about seasickness.

Unfortunately we were exhausted after staying up late, so we missed the breakfast, which I'm sure was good. Prior reviews stated that smoking was allowed on the deck, but a new family friendly policy now forbids it, which was a slight letdown. Plenty of places to do that in Amsterdam though, thus it was not a deal breaker.

Given the location and price, it was a good value for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amsterdam Hotelboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotelboat

Address: Postbus 16645 | Oosterdok, steiger 3, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 321 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Hotelboat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.