We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really it deserves a 4.5, but the owners make it a 5!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amsterdam Hotelboat

Save Saved
You added Amsterdam Hotelboat to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amsterdam Hotelboat
Postbus 16645 | Oosterdok, steiger 3, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #100 of 304 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Luton
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Really it deserves a 4.5, but the owners make it a 5!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay - it is very close to Centraal Station (which makes travelling around very easy), it's clean, cosy and friendly.

The owners are lovely and very knowledgeable, they provide you with a city map and tell you where all the main attractions are. Also there's a stand filled with mini discount cards that will give you 10% off at a lot of main attractions/restaurants.

The breakfast is the typical meat, bread and cheese which sets you up for a day of walking around Amsterdam. The owners also gave us a packed breakfast as we had to leave very early!

The rooms are pretty small and the walls are quite thin so it can be a bit noisy, but I think, being on a boat, it's just something you have to deal with.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    6
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
10
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
malaysia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

The room is very comfortable but the bed may be a tad short for taller person. The hotel is very clean and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Every morning they serve great breakfast and the common area is a very pleasant place to be. The location is very good as well as it is just 10 minutes walk from the Central Station.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Really good idea for a hostel, very clean and tidy. Helpful friendly staff and excellent breakfast. Room are tiny but sufficient. Toilet and shower facilities excellent - actually the shower was the best hostel shower I've ever used, great pressure considering its on a boat... Decent free wifi. Only negative is in my experience the sleep quality was terrible, as everything is wooden every sound is amplified so you can hear people clomping up and down the corridors all night long, and other residents talking all night. Room 17 is directly below the little kitchen, we were woken up at 6:30 am by the woman preparing the (excellent) breakfast, it actually sounded like she was wearing clogs and doing the riverdance it was so load. Sleep was impossible.

Room Tip: As far away from the kitchen as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redhill, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I found this accommodation at short notice so was pleased with the pricing. The breakfast was ok and the hosts are great. They offered assistance on transport and were very kind to leave my room unlocked with my bag inside when I stayed out much too late on my first night in town.
There is no nearby tram, you have to walk about 10min to town but it is near the Orange Bike rental company.

Room Tip: Room 1 is right next to the shower and toilets so can be a bit loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My boyfriend had booked the Hotel Boat t add a different experience to our trip. I was rather hesitant as I wasn't sure how weep. I would do in a confined space however, it was ten times better than expected.

The Hotel Boat was clean and fresh with a nice breakfast every morning and a great location. Room sizes were also a lot bigger than expected.

Would certainly stay again! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California & The World
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Staying on the Amsterdam Hotelboat was quite a unique experience. Located a short 10 minute walk from Central Station, it was very convenient for accessing the heart of Amsterdam. We did not arrive until 11:30 in the evening, and the owner was waiting to welcome us.

The room itself was tiny. The smallest one we had during our travels throughout Europe. Barely enough floor space to put our luggage, so keep that in mind if you are traveling with lots of bags. There was a small sink & mirror in the room, which was helpful. We did not use the shower facilities, but they looked clean and well maintained. Don't worry about the boat being on the water, as it did not move, and so no need to be concerned about seasickness.

Unfortunately we were exhausted after staying up late, so we missed the breakfast, which I'm sure was good. Prior reviews stated that smoking was allowed on the deck, but a new family friendly policy now forbids it, which was a slight letdown. Plenty of places to do that in Amsterdam though, thus it was not a deal breaker.

Given the location and price, it was a good value for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2011

We were looking forward to our stay because we had never slept on a hotelboat. We were pleasantly surprised when we checked in. The boat itself looked really neat, we were particularly impressed with the interior (the hardwood floors are notable). Our room was a bit cramped, but the bunkbeds had amusing charm, we were on a boat after all. The showers (shared) were very good and there was no shortage of hot water. The contential-style breakfast served was very tasty, especially the jam. Hertzen, one of the hosts, was super friendly and helpful, he was entertaining to talk to. All in all, our expectations of our stay on the boat were exceeded and we would recommend it to fellow travellers.

It is located in a wharf with very limited parking. If you have a vehicle, don't expect to be able to park nearby, or for cheap for that matter. Instead, park in one of the P+R lots. We parked at the Zeeburg one, which was considered the closest, and caught the tram back into the city cente (transit pass included in cost of parking).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amsterdam Hotelboat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amsterdam Hotelboat

Address: Postbus 16645 | Oosterdok, steiger 3, Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Binnenstad
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 304 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Amsterdam Hotelboat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amsterdam Hotelboat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.