We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location, average food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lunchcafe Nielsen

Lunchcafe Nielsen
Berenstraat 19, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020-330-6006
Improve this listing
Ranked #638 of 2,401 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nice location, average food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Listed in many paces as a great place for breakfast or lunch.
Don't believe what you read, the food is barely average, a waste of a great location in " de 9 straatjes".

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    29
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
696 reviews 696 reviews
328 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 169 cities Reviews in 169 cities
475 helpful votes 475 helpful votes
“A decent lunch option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

There's nothing fancy about Lunchcafe Nielsen. They offer a relatively limited menu of sandwiches and egg dishes. They are licensed but your only beer choice is Heineken by the bottle. We had a good lunch - chicken club sandwich, chicken and bacon sandwich and a brie sandwich. Service was efficient. Remember to go to the bar to pay your bill.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Two Mornings in a Row, So Far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

When we stop coming here for breakfast, it's because we have left Amsterdam. Try the "tosti." The servers are casual, and they seem to enjoy their jobs.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A perfect way to start the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This small unpretentious cafe served us for breakfast not once, or twice but three days in a row because it served good food quickly and for an affordable price - a difficult combination to find in a restaurant in Amsterdam. We are not not talking 5 star but it was clean, well run, with pleasant polite fast service and good food that got us on our way to the sights without any delay. I highly recommend this cafe.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Longmeadow, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“One of the few breakfast places near our hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Breakfast at our hotel was outrageiously expensive so we hunted for another place to have breakfast. This place was clean, pleasant, and serves a good basic breakfast for a reasonable price. I

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lunchcafe Nielsen also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Lunchcafe Nielsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lunchcafe Nielsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.