We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lunchcafe Nielsen

Lunchcafe Nielsen
Berenstraat 19, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020-330-6006
Improve this listing
Ranked #755 of 2,299 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great breakfast spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stopped by for breakfast and enjoyed their fresh fruit and coffee. Good prices and service. Coffee was the best we've had.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    23
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dresher, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Went to Café Nielsen twice in one week. They offer a nice breakfast special with eggs, toast, fruit, fresh squeezed oj and a hot beverage all for 9 Euros. It is a cute little place and convenient to The Hotel Pulitzer. It's in the 9 streets and worth a visit.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isleworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Cute place, worth a visit if in the area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My Husband and I were on Berenstraat to eat at Pancakes! across the street, this turned out to be a disappointment so we decided to have our after meal coffees elsewhere and came across the lovely Cafe Nielsen.
The staff are friendly and the service fast, it has a beautiful warm cozy feel - great with the snow outside. I had a delicious latte and my husband had a Mocha and we shared a tasty lemon cake, It was the end of the days trade but we were not rushed to finish.
Part of our order was forgotten but not charged so we didn't bother raising it with the staff. We overheard them giving great local information to another customer.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Free Wi-Fi and right around the corner from Sheraton Pulitzer”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you're looking for a bite to eat, a coffee or tea and place with free wi-fi stop by this place. It's a clean and comfortable establishment. Support the local businesses!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great location, warm and comfortable, good for coffee and cake”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This nice little cafe was busy when we arrived, one of the reasons we picked it. We had lunch + coffee and cake. The sandwiches are freshly made and the cake is very tasty.
We didn't have any problems with service - the food came pretty quick. But we were sat in the downstairs area next to the kitchen!
Free wifi meant I could get on with some work and the staff were happy for us to stay put.
It's not the cheapest coffee shop, but we really enjoyed a relaxing couple of hours before hitting the streets of Amsterdam's quirky shops again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lunchcafe Nielsen also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Lunchcafe Nielsen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lunchcafe Nielsen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.