We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little restaurant with good Greek food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of De 2 Grieken

De 2 Grieken
Prinsenstraat 20, 1015 DD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
31 20 6255317
Improve this listing
Ranked #910 of 2,244 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Melbourne
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Lovely little restaurant with good Greek food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We had a lovely evening here - it was a warm night so we could sit outside in the back where there is a small courtyard with about 4 tables, very charming surrounded by lots of trees and greenery from the gardens of surrounding houses. We had a delicious meal - way too much food though!! - and we found the owners very friendly. The prices are very reasonable and the servings are huge. We had a some dips to start with and then grilled mixed meat dish and a squid dish and salad and enjoyed everything. Definitely recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    21
    20
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Dissappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We went on a Sunday night, just by chance. Wish we'd gone somewhere else. The greek salad and house wine and service were OK, nothing special. Moussaka was bland and unappetising, stifado was mainly gristle and fat. The mains came with a weird selection of accompaniments; chips, rice and coleslaw (which was definately not fresh). We were suspicious when we heard the 'ding' of the microwave. Starter dishes were removed and instantly the mains arrived. Also, we were told to keep our cutlery from the salad starter instead of bringing us clean sets. I won't be going back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo Grove, Illinois
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic, intimate Greek cuisine in the heart of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My sister took me here when I visited in Spetember as it is one of her favorite local spots. It's a tiny, cozy place, packed with locals. The owner is the server and helps out in the kitchen too! Warm, funny man with a cheerful mustache. The tables are tiny with a rustic candle each. And the food - WOWZA. We got some kind of sampler-type platter of deliciousness. Literally everything on it was incredible. Glad I got to try this place...it was very memorable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We passed the restaurant on our way to the apartement at the Noordermarkt. As we love greek food we decided to take our dinner there, and what can i say - it was a good choice. The food was very good and fresh cooked (vegetarian moussaka directly from the oven). The owner and his sister were really nice and friendly and there were 2 cute cats -Alex and Sokrates - who joined us while waiting for the dinner.

Next time again!!!!!!!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food at a reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Good choice of veggie foods. The salads there are lovely. The cookies are HUGE and delicious.

Ambience; a clean café with plenty of room upstairs.

Great place for lunch in the heart of the city.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed De 2 Grieken also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to De 2 Grieken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage De 2 Grieken, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.