We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and value for family” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vondel View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vondel View B&B
Save
You added Vondel View B&B to your Saves list
Gerard Brandtstraat 14 hs., 1054JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place and value for family”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

This was a great find in a quaint street next to the main park, just a 15 minute walk to the museums and 20 minutes to central Amsterdam. The rooms were spacious and very well furnished. If you want to avoid hotels this is bang on, especially with two young kids who Rita was able to accomodate very comfortably for a mere 30 euros extra a night. That made it good value with breakfast included. It was so welcoming complete with friendly cat (and I don't really care for cats). After a good sleep Rita produces a feast of a breakfast. And on a wet, cold day you'd be more than happy to retreat to Vondel View for a few hours to re-fuel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
141
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

I enjoyed 2 nights at this charming B&B. Rita my host was informative and engaging. I have never stayed at a B&B before and was immediately put at ease by the elegance and style of my rooms. I cant imagine a better place to stay when visiting Amsterdam and look forward to returning here soon.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Vondel View is extremely well located. 50 metres from Vondel Park, through which one can walk to the city. A number 1 tram will also take you to the city and main railway / canal boat station.

Rita is the perfect host, speaking excellent English, helpful and interested in her guests and their needs. The bedroom, living room and en suite are all of high standard, while the breakfast provided is ideal before a day exploring the lovely city of Amsterdam.

Free internet access was a bonus.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

Words cannot describe this marvellous B&B in the centre of Amsterdam but we will try.
Very spacious with separate large lounge room, huge bedroom with a very comfy bed, Spa bath, fantastic breakfast served in your room, own computer with free internet, great position on Vondel Park, PLUS Rita is a wonderful hostess. If we ever are lucky enough to go back to lovely Amsterdam we will definitely stay here again. We have already recommended Vondel View to our friends. Thank You Rita for a fantastic stay.
Rex & Lyn (Australia)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

B&B Vondel view isn't anything like a British B&B - more 'gorgeous appartment that happens not to have a kitchen' (though there was a fridge). Rita the owner is lovely and extremely welcoming, and has put real thought into this fantastic art deco appartment. We booked the ground floor, which consisted of a sitting room with TV, free internet, fridge, and sofa bed for the children - as well as a small table on which breakfast was served, and a wardrobe. A very large bedroom with comfy bed, plenty of storage, and lovely touches like fresh flowers and towels tied with ribbons. The bathroom was also fabulous, and included a jacuzzi bath. Breakfasts were traditional dutch, and warm rolls were a lovely touch. Although not a particularly cheap, B&B Vondelview is excellent value for money, and brilliantly located by the Vondel Park and on the No1 tram route. The house cat, Koos, is very friendly - Rita asks whether you mind having him around or not.. We didn't see a single cat hair, though you might want to bear in mind they have a cat if you're particularly allergic. No hesitation about giving top marks in all categories.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

My husband and I recently spent a couple nights in Amsterdam and we're beyond pleased with our choice of the Vondelview B&B! Rita was a delightful host and made our stay a memorable one! We booked the Flower room, which is a beautiful and charming room on the 2nd floor. The bathroom is breathtaking to say the least! The proximity to the Vondelview Park was great! One should visit one of the cafés or restaurants in the Park on a sunny afternoon, definitely a must. Rita served us the scumptuous breakfast in our room, which we really enjoyed. A 5-star hotel in disguise!!! We will recommend this B&B to anyone visiting Amsterdam and we certainly plan on booking at Rita's B&B for our next visit! J&H

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

We spent 3 nights in Vondel View B&B and it was just perfect : very big and well decorated room, amazing bathroom, perfect location in Amsterdam (close to Vondelpark & museums, lot of restaurants on Overtoom, near tramway 1 to go to center city, takes 5 minutes, no noise at all), breakfast complete, and the so nice host, Rita, who made our stay really great. Especially with our baby, Rita made all she can for us to have a nice stay. We recommend to stay at Vondel view B&B and we sure come back ! Thank you Rita !

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vondel View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vondel View B&B

Address: Gerard Brandtstraat 14 hs., 1054JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Suite Vondel View in Amsterdam: unique in style and comfort and ideally situated in a quiet residential street next to the Vondel Park. Your complete private suite with living room, bedroom and bathroom. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vondel View B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.