We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vonderful Vondel Park!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vondel View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vondel View B&B
Save
You added Vondel View B&B to your Saves list
Gerard Brandtstraat 14 hs., 1054JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 323 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
amsterdam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Vonderful Vondel Park!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2010

What a treat - a beautiful room and bathroom and a delicious breakfast. Very well located right next to Vondel Park and not far from the city centre. Watch out for the steep and narrow stairs up to the bedroom if you are not that mobile.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
153
14
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

We stayed at the Vondel View B&B for three nights in July 2010. Our stay was amazing. We have a young daughter, and on first arriving, Rita had set up a wonderful bed/crib for our daughter, even with a sweet stuffed bear waiting for her. The style of the hotel is perfect, a very tastefully themed and modern room, with an excellent jacuzzi, comfortable bed, and even a desktop computer with internet access available in the room for free. There is no need to bring your laptop!

The breakfast each morning is very Dutch, excellent! There are lots of cheeses and meats, with fresh squeezed orange juice, coffee, fresh bread, rolls, and fruits. The best part is that Rita serves breakfast in the room, with a very pretty and comfortable spread. Each day, the breakfast is different, and she will happily serve vegetarian if asked.

The hotel is very quiet, off the Vondelpark, with direct access to the park, and a quick walk to the Museumplein and Leidseplein.

We have visited Amsterdam several times and stayed at several different hotels. This is our best experience so far, and we will go back the next time we visit!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

A beautifully restored 19th century house just off an entrance to the Vondel Park. To get to our room we had to climb a steep spiral staircase, with narrow treads - but it was worth it - and Rita (the owner) carried our bags. Continental breakfast was served in our room and was an excellent - different meats and cheeses each day plus eggs and a variety of breads/waffles/jams. Plenty of local restaurants - more lively nightlife available at Leidesplein, a short walk (15 minutes) or tram ride away. In walking distance of the Rijkmuseum and the Van Gogh Museum through the Park

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2010

A great find in a great location in Amsterdam. We were very impressed by the personal care that the owner bestowed on us. Beautiful, spacious suite was very quiet and relaxing. Rita, the owner, provided a baby bed and a highchair for our 5-month old, and even set out a plate of food for the baby at the delicious breakfast brought to our room. Location could not be better for us-- right next to the Vondelpark and the nearby museums. The only down-side is that the hotel is cash-only, so staying longer than two nights means toting a bundle of money. But we will definitely return to the Vondel View with regards for Rita the owner and her son Rueben, who were so kind to us.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2010

I had the most pleasant stay at Vondel View and especially enjoyed Rita's personal attention and interesting chats. Special bonus is definitely Koos the cat, who is more then happy to share ones bed :-) Lovely bathroom with beautiful view to back gardens from sunken in bathtub.... Will be difficult to stay somewhere else if it is full the next time I get to Amsterdam.....

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

Great neighborhood (quiet enough but close to park and tram in Overtoom area). Rita was gracious and provided a nice breakfast (with hot eggs) in our room. Suite had large windows, good light, large bath by European standards, and room enough for 4 or more. My daughter and I thought this was the best room in a 4 week trip. We got separated one night and my daughter had the key, so I had to ring the bell in the wee hours. Poor Rita, but she was sweet and even shipped a forgotten electrical adapter to us. Her cat was a sweet addition. Really a deal for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2010

We stayed two nights in the Flower room which is large and bright with a comfortable bed and is tastefully decorated in a modern style. The bathroom is luxurious with a sunken bath and two basins. You can tell that Rita's husband is an interior architect as the place has a very special feel. We also saw the apartment which is downstairs and this is wonderful if you want even more room. The location is a few steps from the park through which you can get to the Museums and canals. Breakfast was eggs, cheese, ham, fruit, bread, pastries and coffee left outside our room at a time that suited us. Rita the owner could not have been more charming and helpful. .

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vondel View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vondel View B&B

Address: Gerard Brandtstraat 14 hs., 1054JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 323 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Suite Vondel View in Amsterdam: unique in style and comfort and ideally situated in a quiet residential street next to the Vondel Park. Your complete private suite with living room, bedroom and bathroom. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vondel View B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.