We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Dutch Ambiance at Vondel View B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vondel View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vondel View B&B
Save
You added Vondel View B&B to your Saves list
Gerard Brandtstraat 14 hs., 1054JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 319 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Special Dutch Ambiance at Vondel View B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

If you want to experience the real Dutch culture yet still be independent and private, the Vondelview is the place for you. The moment I walked into the Flower Room I was charmed by its beautiful decor and homey feeling. As inexperienced travelers from a rural community we were unaccustomed to the crowds in Amsterdam and the amount of bikes! Vondelview is just far enough away from the city center as to be peaceful and quiet yet a mere 5 minute walk to the nearest tram. The B&B is on a street that dead ends into the park entrance. We arrived early, around 10 am and didn't expect our room to be ready. Our hostess, Rita greeted us and suggested we explore Vondelpark while our room was being readied. What a lovely way to relax and work out the stiffness of the 8 hour flight. We had lunch in an outdoor café in the park while enjoying a beautiful view of the film museum. Rita's breakfasts were superb surprising us with something new each day. In fact the setting is so lovely and the food so scrumptious we were tempted to linger too long before beginning our sightseeing. One day we were going to travel the Historic Triangle and planned to leave before breakfast. Rita packed a lunch for us instead and also included a few things for us to nibble on for breakfast. She was always so pleasant and helpful. Our last day was a Sunday and Rita made come calls to help us determine what church would be the best to attend and still make our train. Then she surprised me with a little gift for my birthday. Such thoughtfulness in all she did made this a unique and unforgettable experience.

Room Tip: Elderly travelers should not attempt to navigate the circular staircase. Stay instead on the first...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
43
149
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed for 5 days in the Flower Room for our inaugural visit to Amsterdam - and what a pleasurable experience. The location is superb, with handy access to trams & buses, right next to the lovely Vondel Park, and an easy walk to the three major museums (Rijks, Van Gogh and Stedelik) in the Museum Quarter.
The Flower Room is spacious & tastefully decorated with a big and modern bathroom - it's such a treat. We would echo the sentiments of other reviewers that Rita is indeed a marvelous hostess. Besides providing generous and sumptuous breakfasts which were different everyday, Rita was most helpful in providing us with good tips for restaurants, and helped organized the transportation to and from the airport. Her thoughtfulness and effort made our stay in Amsterdam exceedingly comfortable, enjoyable and memorable. We would definitely stay at the Vondel View B&B again whenever we visit Amsterdam again.
Rita - thank you, and you're the best.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concepcion del Uruguay, Argentina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We loved staying at Vondel View B&B!
Rita is the perfect host and provided absolutely everything we needed to make our stay super comfortable. We had a very cozy, quiet, and spacious room with very nice views. However, the real surprise was breakfast.The first morning when we got up and opened the door to to our living room we were delighted to see a table which was tastefully set with a variety of delicious food, from warm bread, croissants, cheese, fruit; everything very colorful and delicious!
The B&B is also conveniently located, next to Vondel Park, close to museums, not far from the city centre, very nice restaurants nearby and an excellent bike rental a few minutes' walk.
We definitely recommend staying at Vondel View B&B as it is a much nicer experience than staying at a hotel.
Thanks for everything Rita! We would love to come back soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOURNEMOUTH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I can only reiterate all that has been said in previous reviews! Rita is the most marvellous hostess providing information when needed without being intrusive - just the right mix. Beautiful rooms and a fun bath with Jacuzzi ! Delightful breakfasts and a really useful fridge just added to this most enjoyable stay. It is so close to all amenities - tram literally around corner (2 minutes from BnB) to the central part of Amsterdam - tram takes 10 minutes max and is every five minutes- but this BnB is so close to Vondel park and great shops, restaurants you could spend you time here! We've already booked for next year! Splash out on the suite -It's just simply wonderful!
PS for some reason the rating system won't allow me to choose the options I want but make no mistake I'm giving this BnB 5 stars in all categories!

Room Tip: splash out on the suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

We spent two nights in April at Vondel View and loved it. Rita was so welcoming and provided the best breakfasts ever! Our room was spacious and very quiet and the B&B location was perfectly placed for a stroll in Vondel Park, a short walk to museums and not far from the city centre by tram two minutes away. We had a most enjoyable stay and can thoroughly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Prices are not really cheap, however money are real well spent here. It is a real pleasure to stay in this B&B. You immediately find yourself as at home. The place is strategically located near the Vondel Park and walking distance to the city centre. Very quiet. The Breakfast is gorgeous.
what more... thanks Rita!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in vondel view from Dec 27 till Jan 3. It was our 2nd anniversary. Rita was wonderful in terms of service, all required info for your stay and most importantly Rita's breakfast. Ourstay was just 5 stars stay in addition to the homey atmosphere. The room was perfectly designed and had everything you miget need during your trip. Every thing is clean and neat from A to Z. The .location just perfect.. quite area but close to tram stop and about 20 to 30 min walk to downtown.
Good value. It is worth it. We would love to come back again. Rita you are the best ♡ love from Egypt

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vondel View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vondel View B&B

Address: Gerard Brandtstraat 14 hs., 1054JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 319 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Suite Vondel View in Amsterdam: unique in style and comfort and ideally situated in a quiet residential street next to the Vondel Park. Your complete private suite with living room, bedroom and bathroom. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vondel View B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.