We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful week end” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vondel View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vondel View B&B
Gerard Brandtstraat 14 hs., 1054JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 302 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
essex
1 review
“Wonderful week end”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This week end was in celebration of our 50th anniversary and arranged by our daughter and her partner who came too. We arrived to find flowers and a card from Rita, who is surely the hostess with the mostest! Vondel View deserves every accolade it has been awarded. A beautiful building with large rooms, lovely bathrooms and wonderful breakfasts for which Rita seems famous! Excellent quiet location adjoining Vondelpark and a short walk to the tram stop with a wide variety of restaurants nearby but not far from the sights and the museums too. Just perfect for us all and enhanced by Rita's warm hospitality - nothing was too much trouble. Vondel View is so well equipped from packamacs to a first aid kit to an ironing board and sewing cottons. If you intend to visit Amsterdam make sure you stay at B & B Vondel View. We recommend it wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    13
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
135
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Great location a stone's throw from the Vondelpark and a short stroll to the tram to head into the centre of town. we stayed in the suite which was a great size, Rita's breakfast was a highlight. Would recommend Vondel View B&B without a moment's hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at the Vondel View for two nights in September. We loved the quiet street and access to Vondelpark. The tram was convenient but we walked all over Amsterdam from this location with no problem. Rita was extremely helpful and her breakfasts are outstanding and enough for lunch, too! The only thing I would caution, is that the top suite is up a steep staircase and the bathtub is up two steps and then a step down into a deep tub, so the top suite is not for the mobility challenged. That said, the room and bathroom are gorgeous and extremely roomy! I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Towson, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Only one word describe Vondel View B&B. "Excellent" Located in a quiet neighborhood,close to the tram and within walking distance of the museums is Vondel View. The setting was very charming and our room was big and very comfortable. Everything was very clean and Rita (the hostess) prepares great breakfasts. The bathroom was completely furnished and had a shower and a bathtub. We spent three great nights at the B&B and can't say enough about it. There is also a great park next to the B&B which is great to take leisurely walk. This is the place to stay in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We recently stayed three nights at this elegant B&B right near Vondel Park in Amsterdam. The main floor suite was spacious and clean and beautifully decorated. Each morning the owner, Rita, provided an extensive breakfast which we thoroughly enjoyed. Rita is friendly and knowledgeable and I highly recommend her establishment.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I simply love & enjoy my stay at Vondel View, the room is wonderful with comfortable bed while the bathroom is furnished with a big bathtub & a very beautiful hand painting ceiling!

You can't miss the breakfast every morning, it gives you a wonderful start everyday! Different tradiaional Dutch meals are prepared every morning :)

The location is near to the Vondelpark, you can enjoy quiet nights there.

I recommend this place without reservation!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My husband and I spent seven wonderful days and nights at the Vondel View, and we couldn't have been more pleased with the accommodations. The location is ideal for those who want a quiet alternative to hubbub of Dam Square and the tourist-jammed neighborhoods. The building is only steps from beautiful Vondelpark, a city oasis that leads directly to the Reijksmuseum, Van Gogh Museum, and other attractions. The Melkweg and a charming cinema, De Uitkijk, are within an easy stroll. The tram, as others have noted, is less than a block away, bringing all of Amsterdam within easy reach.

We stayed in the suite, which provides a lovely parlor in addition to the spacious bedroom and bathroom. All of the rooms are sumptuously appointed, with handsome wardrobes that make you forget that you're living out of a suitcase, unique chandeliers, and other tasteful ornaments. Additional features include hardwood floors, tall windows that bathe each room in light, and the convenience of a personal computer.

Rita, our peerless hostess, provided every amenity that we could wish, from warm greetings to assistance with printing our boarding passes and taxi service to the airport. Most remarkable of all were the breakfasts, so generous that we didn't need to eat again until the evening. Every day Rita varied the menu, from eggs and two types of warm breads to various flavors of juice and jam, a different meat every day, two kinds of cheese, plus special treats that included poffertjies (dainty pancakes), stroopwafels, chocolate sprinkles and other sweets, fresh fruit, and a pot of the most delicious coffee. Even with the tram nearby, we felt compelled to walk as much as possible to try to burn off the fabulous breakfasts and make room for more.

The only drawback is that you might be too comfortable to go sightseeing. Between the huge bed with goosedown duvet and the cozy couch in front of the teevee, we were rather slow in getting started each morning and very happy to come home early. Stay here and feel like a real Amsterdammer!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vondel View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vondel View B&B

Address: Gerard Brandtstraat 14 hs., 1054JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 302 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Suite Vondel View in Amsterdam: unique in style and comfort and ideally situated in a quiet residential street next to the Vondel Park. Your complete private suite with living room, bedroom and bathroom. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vondel View B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vondel View B&B to your Saves list