We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay of the whole trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vondel View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vondel View B&B
Save
You added Vondel View B&B to your Saves list
Gerard Brandtstraat 14 hs., 1054JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 306 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best stay of the whole trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

2 weeks of travelling through Amsterdam, Hague, Paris and Brussels with my husband and our toddler and this was by far the best stay of the trip. The location was fantastic and just a quick tram ride from central station, close to all ammenities and vondel park which was beautiful.
The suite was in immaculate condition, stylish, clean and large with a king size bed, huge bathroom with jacuzzi tub and a seperate seating area with tv. When travelling with a toddler having the extra space was much appreciated so he had room to run around and separate area for sleeping too.
Rita was an amazing host and treated us so well. Upon arrival she gave us all the necessary navigation tools for the area and some recommendations for spots to eat and if you wanted to try a specific restaurant she would make the reservations for you was was so nice. All were fantastic!! The breakfasts were perfect, delicious with lots of selection and extras to take for snacks/lunch for the day. She had a wonderful baby cot all set up when we arrived and a high chair for our little guy which helped make this spot feel like home away from home.

Thanks Rita:)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
42
141
14
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What an amazing experience we had at Vondel View. Rita and her husband were wonderful hosts and we are so thankful we were able to stay here during our visit to Amsterdam! Location, location, location. The B&B is in a beautiful neighborhood a stone's throw from Vondelpark. There are many restaurants close by and it is a great area to just walk around and take in the city. Public transit is close by and there are a few bicycle rental shops down the street. We used our bikes to get everywhere and from the B&B, it was at most a 20 minute ride to any museum or attraction. It was also very easy to get to from the main train station, just a hop onto the tram and it drops you off less than a 5 minute walk from the inn.

We stayed in the Flower Room which was elegant and cozy. Our adjacent bathroom was complete private (this room is on its own floor) and was huge compared to many of the inns we have previously stayed in during our travels in Europe. The room overlooked a lush garden and was a wonderfully quiet space after our busy days in the city. Breakfast was fantastic and Rita made sure to remember our dietary restrictions which we so appreciated. She brought breakfast to our room each morning at the requested time and was helpful in planning our days, providing directions, etc...

I think I could have stayed here for another two weeks had time allowed it! I can't wait to return to Amsterdam and stay here again. Thank you for a wonderful experience in The Netherlands!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I have stayed in some great places in my time, some better than others; but on the whole, I have always been happy with most of the places I have stayed. However, I felt that this experience was exceptional.
Looking at Trip Advisor recommendations, My Husband and I stayed for 2 nights for my birthday weekend at the B&B suite, which was more wonderful than words could say and was spotlessly clean and luxurious. The host Rita, is a genuinely friendly and kind person, who was clearly passionate about what she does. In some ways, it was like having a second mum, but not intrusive. She made our stay in Amsterdam so special and the breakfasts were incredibly diverse, delicious and bountiful. She even put up a banner and bought me a freshly baked cake for my birthday.
The intuitive observations that Rita gave (down to the well stocked cupboards) were priceless - she gave us tips on where to go and was willing to arrange anything we needed. We checked in very late, which she stayed up for and was always willing to help.
It was not cheap to stay, but well worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abbotsford, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here about 3 weeks ago. What a treat.
Location is perfect. Rita the owner could not be more
Helpful or informative. The breakfasts were scrumptious and different
Every day. Will be back there on our next trip.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stonewall
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Vondel View B+B. It is a block from Vondel park and about a 15-20 minute walk from Dam Square if you dont stop to go in the shops along the way. We had the flower room which is on the 2nd floor. The bedroom portion is spacious and has a table which you can eat your breakfast at or have a cup of tea or coffee. There is also a safe for valuables and a TV. The bathroom is in a separate room that is right beside your bedroom door. The flower room is the only room on the 2nd floor so its very private. The breakfasts were very good with a good assortment of food and as we had to leave early for the airport on the last day, Rita, the owner made us a small take away breakfast. Rita is very helpful and got us in our room early which was a big help as we got into Amsterdam on an overnight flight and I had a meeting after lunch with some people. The chance to clean up was appreciated. I would definitely stay here on future trips to Amsterdam and would have no problems recommending this place to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Not only does Rita do one of the best brekkie spreads a guest could ask for (which varies depending on the day), she also bends over backwards to make your stay that extra bit special. My boyfriend Alex was running the marathon and Rita was only too happy to help make sure he got there on time by taxi, tips on where to eat the night before and a genuine interest in how he got on. She also helped up out with best ways to get around, local eateries and guides to Amsterdam. As for the room... it was simply stunning. Huge windows, spectacular ceiling and tasteful art- not to mention the bathroom, a little sanctuary in itself complete with white robes, slippers and fluffy towels. Bliss! Thank you again for having us, Kate and Alex xxx

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We agree with all the glowing reports written by other guests. We were most impressed with the very spacious Flower room and adjoining luxury bathroom. Both were spotlessly clean and 'oozed' style and flair. Rita's attention to her guest's every need was most helpful, and never obtrusive. Her breakfasts amazed and delighted us every morning with their variety, flavour and amount. As many travellers to the city would have a late flight home, Rita makes sure that her guests have extra on the breakfast tray on the final day so that they can make up a 'picnic' to last them! She really does think of everything. Vondel View is in a quiet side street, but only a two minute walk from the tram to the city centre, and half a minute to the beautiful park leading to the main museums, and a few minutes' walk to a choice of excellent restaurants - perfect! Although the tram is convenient, we usually walked through the park - safe, even at night - into and out of the city.
Many thanks Rita for making our trip extra special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vondel View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vondel View B&B

Address: Gerard Brandtstraat 14 hs., 1054JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 306 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Suite Vondel View in Amsterdam: unique in style and comfort and ideally situated in a quiet residential street next to the Vondel Park. Your complete private suite with living room, bedroom and bathroom. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vondel View B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.