We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“B&B Vondel View is perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vondel View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vondel View B&B
Save
You added Vondel View B&B to your Saves list
Gerard Brandtstraat 14 hs., 1054JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 322 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Setubal, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“B&B Vondel View is perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I have just come with my family from a 10 days trip visiting Holland regions and the last two nights were spent in the lovely and multicultural city of Amsterdam. Here we stayed at B&B Vondel View. We had a pleasant staying there. Everything was perfect. Rita, the owner, welcome us with a friendly smile and all the information we needed to visit the city, including a map for our own use. The amazing and classic colorful suite room on the first floor is suitable for a family. Vodel View is spotless clean and has a very nice decoration (paintings, a secular wooden floor, comfortable king size bed and a jacuzzi). It has everything we need to have a pleasant staying and visit the city, like maps, guides, museum information, an umbrella (very useful because the weather changes to a grey sky in few hours), a personal computer, TV and a nice garden terrace. The breakfast is served in the suite sitting room and is perfect. Rita gentle asks your own preferences. We propose a more Mediterranean meal (not eggs and bacon) and Rita offered us for drink a nice quality coffee and tea and fresh fruit juices and for eat homemade cakes (butter and chocolate cake and a typical pie made of red fruits), cereals bread, croissants and fresh butter, red fruits jam, fresh fruit, ham and different types of the typical Holland cheese.
B&B Vondel View has also the perfect location near Vondel park (nice for jogging, playing tennis, riding bicycles and for a walk too) and it´s two minutes walking to tram number one (Destination: Central station) which leaves you in the noisy and crowded central area. Vondel view is a very quiet place; I even fall asleep in the suite siting room while I was watching TV. The transfer to the airport is also a very good service B&B Vondel View has to offer. The taxi driver is very professional and a very nice person too.
We will come back for sure! B&B Vondel View is perfect. Please consider this place to stay!
Maria and family
Portugal

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
165
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed at the Vondel View B&B for 4 nights during a rainy season in Amsterdam. We needed two rooms to accommodate our family, so the hotels were out of question. The charm and comfort of this beautifully decorated and spacious place made our stay so wonderfully pleasant and comfortable in spite of the weather. The hospitality of the host family is unsurpassed without disturbing guests privacy. Such a wonderful opportunity to experience Dutch life, and breakfast treats were wonderful. Breakfast was served in our room at the time requested by us, so it was very convenient. The location is great, close to the center of the city, the Van Gogh museum, Diamond museum, and Rijksmuseum. Many great restaurants are nearby. The Vondel Park is right at the door, and it is a beautiful and very safe place for a stroll.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

She succeeded to make my 42 days in Amsterdam a calm, relaxing and comfortable stay. She took very good care of me. I miss her healthy breakfast. The ground floor apartment with nice and chick decoration or the romantic room with the hand made lamp on the first floor are a perfect choice for short or long stay.
Next time in Amsterdam definitely will be my choice; or if it is fully booked ( it's understandable ) I will pay Rita a visit to say hello and drink a coffee together.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were looking for a reasonably priced, conveniently located base for our Amsterdam vacation, knowing that we wanted not only to explore the city but make day trips to nearby cities as well. Trip Advisor led us to Vondel View and we could not imagine a better choice. Rita Pijnappel's well-organized and thoughtful care begins when you make your reservation, offering transportation tips, luggage drop-off, care-free taxi arrangements, and timely, gracious communication. We were also happy with the location, minutes from a tram stop. Our weeklong tram pass and Museum Card made the location of Vondel View perfect for a stay based on covering lots of ground, particularly Amsterdam's museums, several of which are just moments away. The suite was beautiful and spacious, and the breakfasts - served whenever you wish - were plentiful and tasty. We often made sandwiches from Rita's delicious meats and cheeses to allow for a quick lunch once we headed out for the day. There is reliable internet service for free, along with a computer, plenty of restaurants within walking distance, and the busy sights and attractions of Vondel Park just a quick walk away at the end of the dead-end street. Rita was attentive to our questions, completely friendly and warm, and always offered to help in any way possible with information, reservations, or suggestions for shopping or eating. We would return to Vondel View without hesitation and recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Only two rooms, and the suite was the only available one for our dates. We were happy to be on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buenos aires
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Vondel View, it was even better than expected. We stayed at the room upstairs and it was lovely, and of course the hospitality of the owner Rita, who prepares delicious breackfasts. We fully recommend it

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

We recently stayed at the Vondel View – as a family of 4 (two parents, two teenage children) we took up both of the rooms. It is a beautifully furnished, warm, conveniently located, and inviting place to stay – all enhanced by Rita’s gracious hosting. She was very helpful and welcoming – from arranging a taxi to and from the airport, to advice on things to see and do and places to eat, to wonderful big breakfasts. If/when we get to Amsterdam again, we will definitely stay at the Vondel View.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

The Vondelview B &B is a delightful place to base your stay in Amsterdam. The reviews by Trip Advisor members are consistent in their praise of this small, family-run establishment, with good reason. Rita is a kind and thoughtful host, who makes guests very welcome; she obviously enjoys the company of her international guests and goes out of her way to make sure they are comfortable in her home, and able to enjoy the many sights in this wonderful city. The Vondelview has many advantages. I have stayed in other places in Amsterdam, but this has been my favourite. It is adjacent to the huge and beautiful Vondel Park, ideal for walking, exercising more vigorously, or resting. The park makes the Vondelview very quiet, even though it is located just off the busy Overtoom. It a straightforward tram ride from the Central Station and city centre, but for walkers it’s also an easy walk to and from the centre (pretty, if you get off the main transport routes). It’s close to the 3-museum cluster of the Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk and Van Gogh Museum, and on Overtoom itself near the Vondelview there are a range of useful places: eateries, a car hire outlet if you want to go exploring for the day, food supermarkets for stocking up on supplies. I stayed in the ground floor suite that consists of a bedroom, bathroom and small lounge, and I really appreciated the space. In the lounge there is a small table, and because Rita supplies plates, cups, glasses and cutlery it’s easy to bring back food if you don’t want to eat out. There is a coffee maker and kettle in the room, for which tea and coffee are supplied, and a small fridge. Rita’s breakfasts are substantial and beautifully presented, and they set you up well for a day’s sightseeing. I had my own laptop and the wireless setup worked perfectly, but there is a desktop computer in the suite for your use if you don’t travel with a computer or iPad.

Following Rick Steves’ advice, I visited the Schipol airport Tourist Information office when I arrived, and bought my city transport passes there, along with a city map that showed the tram routes (essential; trams are easy to use and enable you to travel quickly all over the city if you don’t feel like walking). I found my chip and pin debit card very useful; with this I was able to buy tram and rail tickets, avoiding the very long queues in Central Station (most machines don’t accept cash).

If you have time, Haarlem is a lovely side trip and a much nicer place to shop than the busy city centre. One final word: Rita will warn you about being careful with a backpack because of Amsterdam’s thieves. Do listen to her – during my final morning in the city I had my wallet containing debit/credit cards, cash and travel vouchers taken from the outside pocket of my backpack.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,785 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#38 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#15 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vondel View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vondel View B&B

Address: Gerard Brandtstraat 14 hs., 1054JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Suite Vondel View in Amsterdam: unique in style and comfort and ideally situated in a quiet residential street next to the Vondel Park. Your complete private suite with living room, bedroom and bathroom. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vondel View B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.