We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Accommodations, Exceptional People” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vondel View B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Vondel View B&B
Save
You added Vondel View B&B to your Saves list
Gerard Brandtstraat 14 hs., 1054JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Vondelpark)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 322 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Anacortes, WA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Exceptional Accommodations, Exceptional People”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed three nights in the Flower Room on a pre-cruise stay in Amsterdam. The comfort and convenience of this outstanding B&B have been accurately described by so many recently that we felt we knew the place even before we arrived. All the praise is justified but what made an even deeper impression on us was the genuine warmth and welcome we felt from Rob, the gentleman who met our flight at Schiphol and transported us in his taxi to Voldel View, and Rita, who looked after us from the moment of our arrival at her beautiful house. We could not have been more pleased with the reception, the service, and the local advice she gave us. And as others have pointed out, the breakfasts were so generous that we made a sandwich of local bread, cheese, and ham to be enjoyed later on a park bench overlooking a canal. All in all, a wonderful three days.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
165
16
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Vondel View is lovely. We stayed in the suite and enjoyed the very spacious and comfortable accommodations. Everything is quality and comfortable, with no detail overlooked. The home is in a fabulous location: in the edge of the park which is huge, lively, great for walks, cycling, running - sort of Amsterdam's Central Park. A very convenient tram is a block away and the neighbourhood is eclectic and "up and coming".....home to diverse restaurants, cafes and specialty shops - like the incredible travel store we stumbled upon. Explore the side streets to find the places locals frequent. There's also a very well-run car rental outlet close by that is not busy and provides easy access to the highway. Rita is very accommodating and helpful with absolutely everything. This is a great base for Amsterdam and day trips in the countryside. I travelled with two teenage children who loved it and, because of the great location, were able to be quite independent.....taking bike rides through the park was a particular highlight.

Room Tip: We liked the suite, which was very spacious and had lovely big windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Our recent 4-night stay at Vondel View couldn't be faulted. Our room was very large and extremely comfortable with an area in which to enjoy Rita's splendid breakfasts and with a splendidly luxurious private bathroom adjoining. The B&B is ideally placed for visiting Amsterdam's attractions and is in a quiet and relaxing location. Good, reasonably priced restaurants are within 10 mins. walk and, with Vondelpark on our doorstep, we were able to take a pleasant 15 min. stroll into the canal district rather than going along a busy main road. Rita was the perfect host and Vondel View is the perfect place to stay. I can't recommend it highly enough and we are looking forward to staying with her on a future visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
111 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

We've stayed at many B&B's and have to say that Vondel View is one of the best anywhere. We arranged a car through Rita (thanks Rob!) and arrived at around 10:30. Rita let us drop our bags, made sure we knew how to get back and we were off! We had previously stayed near Vondel Park so were familiar with the area and were pleased to confirm the convenience for visiting Amsterdam.

We realized the next morning to make sure we woke up hungry! Rita sets up an amazing breakfast: eggs (soft boiled or omelet), meat, cheese, pastry, bread, jams, juice, fresh fruits, coffee, tea. . . wow!

We stayed in the Suite. Very nice and comfortable retreat at the end of the day. Great bed, beautiful new bathroom, free wireless internet access.

Most importantly, we wanted to make a comment about Rita herself. She is wonderful. She was helpful when we were planning out visit to Keukenhof and other locations, made sure we were having a good visit and wasn't intrusive. My wife left her iPod when we departed and Rita posted it to us at our next destination. We were very happy to make her acquaintance and hope to visit again.

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

My family and I stayed at Vondel View in the fall of 2011 for a long weekend. Unfortunately it rained nearly our entire time in Amsterdam, which meant we ended up spending more time than we'd planned in our room. Luckily the room was not only spacious but gorgeous and comfortable. Rita was an amazing host and was so wonderful about accommodating our almost 2-year-old son with a high chair, special breakfast, and a crib. We weren't expecting Vondel View to be so toddler-friendly, but it definitely is! The location is also perfect, with Vondel Park just steps from the B&B. Public transportation is also just steps away, although we ended up walking most places. Vondel View is the perfect choice for someone looking a more personalized experience than what you typically get in a hotel. I'd recommend it for a romantic vacation or for a vacation with friends or family.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

After traveling around Europe with Amsterdam as our final destination prior to coming home, we had such a wonderful surprise with our chosen accommodations at the Flower room at this hidden B&B gem.

It was just the perfect place for us to wind down and enjoy not only the room and beautiful bathroom renovated by Rita's husband, but was also close walking distance to the Vondel Park (similar to Central Park in NYC), and minutes away from the tram or bike rental shop.

If you are looking for a place to relax or just wind down, like us, this is definitely a place to consider.

Lastly, we couldn't say enough about Rita, the host, she was super helpful and made our stay even better ; )

Room Tip: If you're still considering hotel accommodations, this B&B will over beat it any day !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We recently stayed at Vondel View B&B for Queen's Day 2012 and had a wonderful experience! We stayed in the Flower Room, which was perfect for us. Rita is a very congenial and helpful host and is just as vital a part of our great experience as was the room itself. I probably don't need to re-iterate exactly what other people have said, but the location is great with incredibly close proximity to Vondelpark, the breakfast was OUTSTANDING and kept us full well into the late afternoon, and room was spacious and comfortable. Here are some things to note that I think would be helpful to know.

-The Flower Room is on the 2nd floor, up a pretty steep flight of stairs (which is VERY common in Amsterdam due to the shape of most buildings) to a small landing on that floor. A little daunting at first, but really unavoidable in Amsterdam and not as bad as it first looks.
-The room and bathroom are not directly connected, so you have to technically go outside of your room to get to the bathroom. But the doors are literally 90 degrees from each other and still fairly private. And the bathroom is only for your room.
-The curtains in the room are fine for privacy, but barely keep any light out. If you are sensitive to light in the morning and can't sleep through it, I would bring one of those masks.
-Don't anticipate that you can keep your luggage at the B&B if you aren't leaving directly after checkout. Most people (and we were advised by Rita to) store them at Centraal station since they often leave from there for the airport or on a train and it's inconvenient to come back and forth to the B&B. Unfortunately, because of Queen's Day, we were stuck because all the lockers at the station were taken, and we were saddled with our luggage for a few hours. We tried going back to Vondel View to store our luggage there, but Rita was not able to accommodate us for various reason mostly out of her control. Anyway, extenuating circumstances, but something to consider.

All in all, we had a great experience and would definitely return!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 355 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 1,787 reviews
citizenM Amsterdam
#39 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 3,350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#15 of 355 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vondel View B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vondel View B&B

Address: Gerard Brandtstraat 14 hs., 1054JK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Vondelpark
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 322 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Suite Vondel View in Amsterdam: unique in style and comfort and ideally situated in a quiet residential street next to the Vondel Park. Your complete private suite with living room, bedroom and bathroom. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vondel View B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.