We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really delicious falafel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sonny Falafel

Sonny Falafel
Eerste van der Helststraat 43, Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31 206 767 612
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #915 of 2,486 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: Vegetarian
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Really delicious falafel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

We went here twice over a weekend in Amsterdam even though it was quite far from where we stayed! The food was FANTASTIC, as a vegetarian I have had many, many falafels in my time and these were by far the best. It took us a while to find it at first so make sure that you have a good map! The guy is really funny and made us laugh whilst we were waiting. The salads and toppings were fresh and lovely, I wish we had gone here sooner so could have eaten there every day! It is just a take-away fast food type place so don't expect a proper restaurant, but there was space to sit outside.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    15
    2
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Awesome Cilantro Sauce”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We found Sonny's after bumbling around Cuyperstraat area. But once we got there and had the falafels in hand, man it was great. Sonny has a variety of sauces to top the falafel with and we really enjoyed the Cilantro sauce. There are also some hot and spicy toppings, but the Cilantro sauce is so aromatic and just perfect for my palate.

The restaurant itself is nondescript, kind of a hole in the wall in a residential street just off Albert Cuypstraat - we took Tram 16/24 from the Dam area, and the Albert Cuyp market was shutting down due to earlier rain and time of day (after 5:30pm) But once we got our bearings and found the store, it was really worth it. Funny thing was other than us everyone else there was a local enjoying falafel. So this is not a tourist trap but a popular local good food place. Check out their website to see the map and get the layout of the streets right. If you are at the Heineken Experience, it is a short walk to Sonny's.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great take-away falafel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We looked for ages to find this place - there is a street called eerste van der Helmestraat ad it's NOT there:) (@tourists- it's really close to the Heineken Brewery in case you're looking as well).
It is a tiny take-away shop - so don't expect a nice setting or anything fancy.
You have a vast choice of falafels with all sorts of toppings. You can then add yourself salad, tomatoes, sauces etc.
Taste= really great!
So definitely worth the search walk through half of Amsterdam.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Excellent little place, 5.50€ for a scrumptious falafel with serve your self fixings. Excellent sauces and salads. Having tried about 20 places, this is the best falafel I have tried in amsterdam.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great falafel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Great falafel and very friendly service. Although I wouldn't visit the De Pijp neighborhood for this place, I really enjoyed my meal.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sonny Falafel also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sonny Falafel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sonny Falafel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.