We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what you call a dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Restaurant

Le Restaurant
Tweede Jan Steenstraat, 3, 1073 VK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
31 (0)20 3792207
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #163 of 2,281 restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
“This is what you call a dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Small - you have to make sure you have a booking way in advance - this is a perfect culinary wonder in the heart of Amsterdam. Make sure on your visit to Amsterdam to have one of those very rare moments of complete satisfaction, this exquisite dining experience will give you the feel that eating out is among your best part of your business stay or holiday. The team works well together and surprises you with culinary wonders, everything not only delicious but also a lust for the eye. Unbelievable experience, do not miss this out when in Amsterdam!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    35
    1
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Siasconset, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful prix fixe meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I had dinner here and it was one of the highlights of our trip to Amsterdam. We had a table with a view of the kitchen, so my husband was happy watching their quiet, extremely organized preparations. Very good service. Imaginative food using local products. We will return the next time we're in Amsterdam.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best of Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

In my opinion really no other restaurant in Amsterdam beats this small, cosy one in The Pijp. The food is amazing, it is culinary but not to the point that it is more of a science project than something you enjoy eating. It is just perfect. The guy that does the wine section is really enthusiastic; he sorts out wines to accompany your dinner if you want, or you can just choose from the wine list that is sufficient enough. The maitre d' and the waiter are friendly fun guys who know the balance between perfect service and some fun. The chef comes into the restaurant with freshly baked madeleines after dinner - even if you are full (you will most likely be) DO NOT PASS THEM! They are even better than the ones you get at Laduree in Paris. There is only one thing: it is quite hard to get a table here, in weekends you really have to book a good few weeks(say 7 or 8) in advance. Weekdays are said to be easier, but just to be on the sure side I'd make a reservation instead of just walking in hoping to get lucky.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good degustation menu in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very friendly service. Good suite of small to medium plates. Mostly sea products. Good wine. Good dessert.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Michelin is missing out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

As a seasoned traveler and sybarite, which my age supports, I was astounded that LE Restaurant, Amsterdam, did not have Michelin Stars. It is comparable to Saüc in Barcelona or Agli Tre Amici in Udine, Italy. Superb ensemble of selections very assembled by a professional and affectionate team. The wine list was adequate, but needs to be expanded a bit more exclusive to meet the menu's nuances. Do not even think of showing up without a reservation!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Restaurant also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Le Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.