We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Flores & Puck

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amsterdam
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flores & Puck
Rietwijkerstraat 51, 1059 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 303 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Mitcham, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is a fantastic place to stay in Amsterdam. We were initially concerned about not being close enough to the city centre, but we soon realised that Amsterdam is such a small city and it is a short tram or cycle ride to the centre. Astrid was an amazing host with a faultless cottage and she even supplied bikes for us to nip around upon. You can come and go as you please without interference, yet Astrid is there to give you helpful advice if the need arises. We have been travelling Europe for four months and this was truly one of the best places that we stayed. Well worth a visit!

Leigh & Hannah

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NZ
Top Contributor
537 reviews 537 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Arriving in Amsterdam from our Trans Atlantic Flight we followed Astrid's precise directions to Flores & Puck via train & bus. Inner sanctum tranquility in the garden behind her home is what we fondly call the 'Doll House'. Charming & perfectly set up guest accommodation for a couple, with quality throughout: Linens, towels, great shower, comfortable Murphy Bed, coffee/tea making, mini fridge. Breakfast was exceptional: FRESH fruit & locally baked rolls, museli, selection of charcuterie / cheese. TOP notch. Best of all, like having one's personal CONCIERGE is Astrid's knowledgeable and careful advice. All spot on: pre paid Museum entrance to avoid long queues, restaurant & transit suggestions. We did not use her bicycles in our jet lagged condition, employing the #2 tram to quickly access the Centrum City. As we had but 48 hours, twas important for our 'time management'. Taxi to A/P for early flight out arranged by Astrid was equally FINE, a Merc limo! Efficient. Value. Wish we could have stayed a week, NEXT time!
This format cannot express our complete satisfaction & highest recommendations. Thank you, Astrid, from Simon & Wendy

Room Tip: Listen to Astrid's knowledgeable & helpful advice when exploring this amazing city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, TN
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

My gf and I stayed here for 4 nights, and it was fantastic! Astrid is a wonderful, gracious host, full of advice about Amsterdam and how to get around. Although on the map it looks like it's further out than some other accommodations, it is easy to get to the historic part of the city by walking through Vondelpark or just taking an easy trip on the #2 tram from the stop around the corner from the house.

The house itself is a converted garden cottage, and it is super clean and nice, pristinely furnished and cared for - much better and not to mention bigger than most hotel space you will find in Europe, at this or any price. I paid around 2x this price in Paris for something far less nice, much smaller, and less secluded/secure.

So easy to get to the airport - so easy to get downtown. The breakfast is delicious. She serves it herself and *encourages* you to take any leftovers with you for lunch. And there will be leftovers. She'll even provide you a plastic bag. Most hotels would, at best, frown on this practice, and at worst, publicly shame you. But Astrid knows what's up! She will even do her best to provide according to your wishes. But let her surprise you. The breakfast she brings is wonderful!

Toiletries? shampoo? Hairdryer? All there for your use.

Maps, books about Amsterdam and the Netherlands? Fully at your disposal?

TV with sat/cable? Check. Watch Jersey Shore with Dutch subtitles! (Fun for language nerds!)

Besides staying here, I cannot stress how great the Holland Pass is. Buy it from Expedia, print the voucher, and redeem at any Travelex, including right outside the trains at Centraal. Use the coupon to get 24 or 48 hours of free transit. We got the 7-event pass, and it more than paid for itself after only cashing in the transit coupon and going to three high-value "tulip ticket" events. The discount book also works at many more restaurants than you'd imagine. Don't forget to use it!

We had a great trip to Amsterdam, and Astrid and the Holland Pass were largely responsible. You will not be sorry you stayed here! Pet Flores and Puck for us!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

It was a very enjoyable 3 nights spent here. The other reviews have said it all about the place. Great location, non intrusive, quiet and cosy. What made the difference we felt was the fantastic hospitality of Astrid. The moment we checked in, she was ever so helpful to recommend what to do, see and eat in Amsterdam. Every morning, when she brought in her sumptous breakfast (a must include!), she'd spend some time chatting with us making sure everything is ok. Most of all, what touched us most was the day we checked out, we were running late to catch our train to Brussels. Without hesitation, Astrid said she will drive us to the nearest metro which was faster to Schipol. Thanks to her, we got the train on time. We'll be back at Flores & Puck. Thank you Astrid! Your cottage was great and you were wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

What a delightful experience. You are in a small private cottage in the back garden of Astrid's house. You have your own entrance to come and go as you please. The location is south of Vondel Park so if you want to be in the middle of the noisy city this may not be for you. We marveled over the design of the cottage - very small with a wall bed (comfortable!!). It's a beautiful walk to the Rijkesmuseum but I think most visitors end up buying a 24 hour tram/bus pass (about $10 US) so you can more easily get to all of the locations in Amsterdam that you might want to visit on your trip. We loved the location and felt very private and safe. Astrid was so helpful and maintained the right balance of available but not intrusive. We wouldn't stay anywhere else now and it's what we will recommend to all our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The other reviews really tell it all. This is a private "cottage" in the rear garden of an Amsterdam home. It is located in a quiet and safe neighbourhood, very convenient to transportation, not too far from downtown and with restaurants and groceries available nearby. We walked to the Rijksmuseum through Vondelpark and it took about 30 minutes. Trams and buses, though, are only 5 minutes away.
Astrid is very helpful and knowledgeable, and just a wonderful person.
The cottage had everything we needed but keep in mind that there is only room for at most two.
Without hesitation, this will be my first choice for accommodation in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This is a winner. Flores&Puck overcomes the problem with most B&B's which is that you are effectively staying in someone's home and have to play by house rules.

At Flores&Puck you come and go by your own entrance to the lovely self contained cottage at bottom of the garden. Owner Astrid has done a bit of travelling herself and speaks Dutch, German and English- maybe others. She has furnished the cottage to hotel standard with everything the weary traveller could want down to the espresso machine and shelf full of books and guides.

You will meet Astrid in the garden at breakfast time and find out anything you need to know about Amsterdam before boarding the number 2 tram for a short ride to the centre of town. Or cycling a short distance to Vondel Park or the Van Gogh museum. This is real Amsterdam- handy to restaurants, a supermarket and transport but off the tourist trail.

I spent 5 nights at Flores&Puck. It was a peaceful retreat from a busy conference at RAI (easy to get there by tram and metro). I'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flores & Puck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flores & Puck

Address: Rietwijkerstraat 51, 1059 VX Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 303 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small cottage in a big garden in Amsterdam South, close to center and Vondelpark.Two bikes are available to explore Amsterdam like the locals do! ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flores & Puck, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Flores & Puck to your Saves list