We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good honest food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kop van Jut

Kop van Jut
Leidsekruisstraat 24, 1017RJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Stadsdeel Zuid)
+31 20 320 7722
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #327 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $19
Cuisines: Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: Home of great taste,this is were the locals eat.
London, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good honest food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

A modest menu, but everything done well and a very cosy atmosphere, very Dutch! Service was friendly and they made us feel looked after.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    69
    15
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amsterdam's hidden gem for traditional Dutch cuisine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Looking for traditional Dutch cuisine, in a cosy and friendly restaurant at an affordable price... look no further!
Whether you're a Dutch local who would like to enjoy a proper Dutch meal (this time not at home with your mom) or a tourist who would like to experience the Dutch kitchen, this is the place to eat. Either make your pick from the standard menu, or enjoy the day menu. Don't leave without trying the "Kop van Jut" white beer or their home made chips.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Great venu lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Read the other reviews and decided to find this place and were not disappointed. I had the ribs which were delicious and my husband had a steak all washed down with a house red. We were impressed with the location off Leidesplein away from the more commercial areas

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good dutch meal and great beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

We tried visiting this little rest. and had to go back the next day because it is very small and it was full. It was totally worth going back there! Food was great: I had the steak with dutch pepper sauce and it was very good! The house beer is great and I would def. go back!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent intimate restaurant with fine cuisine and a great atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I am a frequent visitor to Amsterdam for business and this has emerged as my favorite restaurant (and there are many candidates to choose from). The owner and chef have always made each visit special from the first visit to the last one. The food is immaculate and the chef always brings a personal touch or something new to each meal. As the other posters indicate, this is a tiny but comfortable restaurant with a great vibe. The set up of many of the tables relative to the kitchen creates a great spectator opportunity to enliven the meal. Almost like having a table in the kitchen. I look forward to my next visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kop van Jut also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Kop van Jut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kop van Jut, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.