We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for reasonable price in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast

Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Geerdinkhof 258, AM 1103 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #182 of 324 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Bron, France
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Good place for reasonable price in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

It was difficult to find a reasonable place to stay in Amsterdam, where hotels are very expensive. Apostrophe B&B is located South East from the center and is easily accessible from the highway. We have left the car there, have walked to the metro station (about 10 minutes) and 15 minutes later have reached the central station. Then we only had to walk around to visit Amterdam centre.
The B&B has 3 rooms and a common bathroom. It is better to avoid rooms 2 and 3: they are tiny and you can hear easily from one to the other. Breakfast was very nice. The owners are very nice people and also speak French and German.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Banska Bystrica, Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

we stayed in an apartman 800 metres from Apostrophe. 4 bedroom, 1 livingroom, 1 bathroom. Jan (the owner) was very helpful and very kind. We had everything we need for our comfortable stay. Its ideal for a friends who would like to stay in a good place with a limited budget

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed one night at the B&B after the European League Final at ArenA. B&B is located at resendential area in apparently a row house. There are at least 2 other rooms, I had one with bathroom en-suite. No extraodinary comfort, just fine and certainly, clean. If you are allergic, probably, it is better to look for other accomodation, the house is full of carpets, books and very nice things brought from different corners of the world. The owner Jan is very nice person, speaks English and German, pity that I had not enough time to chat, definitely Jan have travelled a lot.
Car can be left at the front of the house. Direct bus connection brings you in about 10 minutes to the stadium. Last bus leaves from the stadium after midnight. That was very convenient!
And do not forget cash, the owner does not accept cards.

Room Tip: Not sure that all B&B rooms have bath en-suite. Check up front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Parking a car anywhere in Amsterdam is always going to be difficult so it was good to get this B & B with a free car park. Our room was comfortable enough, but a bit cluttered and we had to clamber over the bed or our luggage. There was plenty of reading - a huge bookshelf with books in a number of different languages. Our host Jan was friendly and helpful and breakfast was very nice, although, as another reviewer noted he would sit on his computer while we had breakfast, but my wife didn't let him get away with that, so she would engage him in conversation. When we did get him talking he was really interesting to chat to. We also had a problem with the shower screen in the ensuite room - which doesn't give much privacy and the thin walls - another guest was skyping after we had gone to bed and we had to ask her to keep her vioce down. She was very apologetic next morning. I guess we had the feeling that we were staying in someone's spare room rather than at a B&B, but overall it was comfortable and convenient. We stayed 5 nights there. It's a long way from central Amsterdam but the metro is convenient - about 10 minutes walk to the station and then 15 - 20 minutes to central station. From there you can get a tram to almost anywhere or (as we did often) just stroll along the canals. Amsterdam Zuidoost is a residential area which is fairly multicultural with quite a large african population. This was fine by us and we felt perfectly safe even walking from the metro at night. Jan told us that it bothers some of his guests which is disappointing but not surprising.

Room Tip: If you like your privacy when using the toilet or bathroom then you shouldn't choose the ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trikala, Greece
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Me and my husband stayed in Apostrophe during November 2011 and we found the hospitality great, Mr Jan is a fine host and will put his best effords to meet your needs, he even helped us with booking tickets and transport cards.
The breakfast was far from the typical Dutch and included a variety of things.
The place is very clean and has magnificent libraries where you can spend time reading an interesting book.
Bus stop at 150 meters. Metro station near by. Nice location away from the noise of downtown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sthlm
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at the place for two nights. We enjoyed the safe and calm environment, and relative proximity (10-12 mins walk) to public transport. The place was clean and tidy, and the breakfast was complete.

However, we had booked the ensuite room, which does indeed have a private bathroom/WC. Only, there's no proper door between this and the bedroom, but only a small frosted glass saloon style door. This didn't go from floor to ceiling, and there was also a 15 mm gap, which meant that whilst using the bathroom/toilet, your companion cannot avoid seeing/hearing you. As we did not feel particularly comfortable with this detail, we ended up using the shared bathroom in the corridor.

There was plenty of breakfast but we were a little disappointed that nothing traditionally Dutch was served. During breakfast, the owner was sitting next to the table, at his computer, listening but not participating to our conversation, which was fairly awkward. Otherwise, he was very nice and friendly and gave us a warm welcome.

The walls are also very thin, which means you know exactly what is going on in other guests' rooms.

Room Tip: Do not take the ensuite room if you are concerned about privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast

Address: Geerdinkhof 258, AM 1103 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #182 of 324 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.