We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and close to Amsterdam ArenA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast
Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Geerdinkhof 258, AM 1103 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #139 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Germany
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Warm welcome and close to Amsterdam ArenA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed one night at the B&B after the European League Final at ArenA. B&B is located at resendential area in apparently a row house. There are at least 2 other rooms, I had one with bathroom en-suite. No extraodinary comfort, just fine and certainly, clean. If you are allergic, probably, it is better to look for other accomodation, the house is full of carpets, books and very nice things brought from different corners of the world. The owner Jan is very nice person, speaks English and German, pity that I had not enough time to chat, definitely Jan have travelled a lot.
Car can be left at the front of the house. Direct bus connection brings you in about 10 minutes to the stadium. Last bus leaves from the stadium after midnight. That was very convenient!
And do not forget cash, the owner does not accept cards.

Room Tip: Not sure that all B&B rooms have bath en-suite. Check up front
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Parking a car anywhere in Amsterdam is always going to be difficult so it was good to get this B & B with a free car park. Our room was comfortable enough, but a bit cluttered and we had to clamber over the bed or our luggage. There was plenty of reading - a huge bookshelf with books in a number of different languages. Our host Jan was friendly and helpful and breakfast was very nice, although, as another reviewer noted he would sit on his computer while we had breakfast, but my wife didn't let him get away with that, so she would engage him in conversation. When we did get him talking he was really interesting to chat to. We also had a problem with the shower screen in the ensuite room - which doesn't give much privacy and the thin walls - another guest was skyping after we had gone to bed and we had to ask her to keep her vioce down. She was very apologetic next morning. I guess we had the feeling that we were staying in someone's spare room rather than at a B&B, but overall it was comfortable and convenient. We stayed 5 nights there. It's a long way from central Amsterdam but the metro is convenient - about 10 minutes walk to the station and then 15 - 20 minutes to central station. From there you can get a tram to almost anywhere or (as we did often) just stroll along the canals. Amsterdam Zuidoost is a residential area which is fairly multicultural with quite a large african population. This was fine by us and we felt perfectly safe even walking from the metro at night. Jan told us that it bothers some of his guests which is disappointing but not surprising.

Room Tip: If you like your privacy when using the toilet or bathroom then you shouldn't choose the ensuite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trikala, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Me and my husband stayed in Apostrophe during November 2011 and we found the hospitality great, Mr Jan is a fine host and will put his best effords to meet your needs, he even helped us with booking tickets and transport cards.
The breakfast was far from the typical Dutch and included a variety of things.
The place is very clean and has magnificent libraries where you can spend time reading an interesting book.
Bus stop at 150 meters. Metro station near by. Nice location away from the noise of downtown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sthlm
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at the place for two nights. We enjoyed the safe and calm environment, and relative proximity (10-12 mins walk) to public transport. The place was clean and tidy, and the breakfast was complete.

However, we had booked the ensuite room, which does indeed have a private bathroom/WC. Only, there's no proper door between this and the bedroom, but only a small frosted glass saloon style door. This didn't go from floor to ceiling, and there was also a 15 mm gap, which meant that whilst using the bathroom/toilet, your companion cannot avoid seeing/hearing you. As we did not feel particularly comfortable with this detail, we ended up using the shared bathroom in the corridor.

There was plenty of breakfast but we were a little disappointed that nothing traditionally Dutch was served. During breakfast, the owner was sitting next to the table, at his computer, listening but not participating to our conversation, which was fairly awkward. Otherwise, he was very nice and friendly and gave us a warm welcome.

The walls are also very thin, which means you know exactly what is going on in other guests' rooms.

Room Tip: Do not take the ensuite room if you are concerned about privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This B&B is located relatively close to a metro if you don't mind walking 10-15 mins which takes you to Amsterdam. It is clean, the host is nice, and breakfast is filling any typically European, with different breads, cereal, jams, meat and cheese, etc. This is B&B is especially convenient if you come by car since there is free parking. I would stay here again if I was visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

A beautiful clean and comfortable place, with the most intellectual, kind and generous host you may ever come across!
I than Mr. Jan for a beautiful vacation and encourage a stay in B&B Apostrophe…trust me on this. I feel very lucky to find this place. Don’t think twice, book right ahead!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast

Address: Geerdinkhof 258, AM 1103 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #139 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;