We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable and clean B & B.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast
Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Geerdinkhof 258, AM 1103 Amsterdam, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #110 of 305 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Trikala, Greece
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hospitable and clean B & B.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Me and my husband stayed in Apostrophe during November 2011 and we found the hospitality great, Mr Jan is a fine host and will put his best effords to meet your needs, he even helped us with booking tickets and transport cards.
The breakfast was far from the typical Dutch and included a variety of things.
The place is very clean and has magnificent libraries where you can spend time reading an interesting book.
Bus stop at 150 meters. Metro station near by. Nice location away from the noise of downtown.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
sthlm
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We stayed at the place for two nights. We enjoyed the safe and calm environment, and relative proximity (10-12 mins walk) to public transport. The place was clean and tidy, and the breakfast was complete.

However, we had booked the ensuite room, which does indeed have a private bathroom/WC. Only, there's no proper door between this and the bedroom, but only a small frosted glass saloon style door. This didn't go from floor to ceiling, and there was also a 15 mm gap, which meant that whilst using the bathroom/toilet, your companion cannot avoid seeing/hearing you. As we did not feel particularly comfortable with this detail, we ended up using the shared bathroom in the corridor.

There was plenty of breakfast but we were a little disappointed that nothing traditionally Dutch was served. During breakfast, the owner was sitting next to the table, at his computer, listening but not participating to our conversation, which was fairly awkward. Otherwise, he was very nice and friendly and gave us a warm welcome.

The walls are also very thin, which means you know exactly what is going on in other guests' rooms.

Room Tip: Do not take the ensuite room if you are concerned about privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

This B&B is located relatively close to a metro if you don't mind walking 10-15 mins which takes you to Amsterdam. It is clean, the host is nice, and breakfast is filling any typically European, with different breads, cereal, jams, meat and cheese, etc. This is B&B is especially convenient if you come by car since there is free parking. I would stay here again if I was visiting Amsterdam.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2009

A beautiful clean and comfortable place, with the most intellectual, kind and generous host you may ever come across!
I than Mr. Jan for a beautiful vacation and encourage a stay in B&B Apostrophe…trust me on this. I feel very lucky to find this place. Don’t think twice, book right ahead!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast

Address: Geerdinkhof 258, AM 1103 Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #110 of 305 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apostrophe Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.