We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a real nice experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sardegna

Sardegna
Cornelis Schuytstraat 17, 1071JD Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museumplein)
020 - 673 33 33
Improve this listing
Ranked #843 of 2,627 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Museumplein
Phuket, Thailand
Top Contributor
395 reviews 395 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
245 helpful votes 245 helpful votes
“a real nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We went here accidently as we stayed in Hilton Apollodam which is closed by and not wanted to spend lot money on average hotel food. Sardegna is located in one of the more remote shopping areas of amsterdam in a very nice and calm area close to one of the major parks in town. The restautant was the only one we could found open and luckily we found a small table for us and our little one. The food is good and all ingredients are fresh. The service is attentive, little bit chaotic but nice and friendly. They not have any kiddy chairs but this is OK as the waiters are very nice to the little guests. The ambiente is real something special, as the stuff speaks Italian and only sometimes English or Dutch you really feal like you are in Italy, by the way: even the salt and pepper on the table are made in Italy. The food is very good, ingredients are fresh and all is very tasty. Do not miss to try the dish which they make in a cheese fresh at your table ( it is i not on the menue and I unfortunately forgot the name ), its really nice and if you like it bit more spicy perfect. Wine selection is small but good, same as the whole menue, small but perfect. We went here the next day again and I will definitely return the next time when I am back in Amsterdam even if I not stay in a hotel close by. Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    49
    19
    8
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antrim
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good restaurant - nice area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We dined here twice on a recent visit to Amsterdam. Food was not spectacular, but was good. We had no complaints about service and enjoyed the buzz around the place. Prices were certainly steeper than in the UK.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“got told off (badly) because our group was smaller than reserved”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

we were at a conference in Amsterdam and wanted a nice dinner with colleagues and reserved a table at this restaurant. I confirmed for a group and called during the day to confirm the number. at the end, we were then less than confirmed.
so the owner of the restaurant then came to our table (not took me aside privatly), and complained really bluntly that we didn't keep our reserved number and just went on and on how bad this is from our side.

I think, she forgot who the client was there.....

at the end we left without eating there as we found her bahaviour not appropriate. yes, we understand her point, but she also should treat clients as clients not as a number to get money from. If she would have just took me aside to come to a mutual agreement, it would have been a different matter. But she told us off in front of everybody.
Sorry UNACCEPTABLE!

NO RECOMMENDATION from our side!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Food was ok - why no tap water?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

An otherwise enjoyable meal spoiled by the waiter refusing to bring tap water for the table. Food was fine - I had a pizza.

After a change in personnel, we were back on track and the rest of the service was very good.

Bruschetta at the start was very tasty.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Too variable”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Whilst the service, atmosphere and most of our group's main courses were good to very good - there was too much inconcistency - the risotto lacked the creaminess that comes from careful stirring and slow adding of stock and the Tiramisu was way below par - the sponge biscuits had clearly not been soaked in coffee and Marsala and the dessert appeared to have been assembled after it was ordered, resulting in a dry and flavorless disappointment - these deficiencies pointed to haste rather than carefulness in preparation and or failure to be honest and say a particular item is not available today - for the price we could not recommend this place - go around the corner to Classico instead.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sardegna also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Sardegna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sardegna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.