We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic simple and tasty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Broodje Bert

Broodje Bert
Singel 321, 1012 WK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
+31 20 6230382
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 2,434 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: Dam Square
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fantastic simple and tasty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

great portions, tasty breakfast and lunch at this cafe. Its always busy and its very small with only a few seats which is even better as service is quick and friendly. I went back on the last day to try other parts of the menu. I highly recommend their breakfast and their burgers. In summer I can imagine it being very busy, but with a canal right in front I'm sure it would be a pleasant takeaway.
Its a shame that people walked out without waiting 2 mins to be served. They missed out on possibly the best value for money tasty breakfast in Amsterdam.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    71
    14
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Discovered this wee cafe on the 3rd day of our 4 day stay and visited again for lunch on the last day. There isn't much seating so we got takeaway on the first visit but went earlier the second time and managed to get a seat. I had the lentil soup both times and it is on a par with my mum's lentil soup, so so good! Especially on a cold January afternoon. My boyfriend had a chicken burger the first time and then a ham and cheese omelette the second time and enjoyed both. Both came with a plentiful salad and a baguette. Prices are more than reasonable. I would go back to amsterdam again just to go to this place! Make a point of visiting if you are in the area - you won't be disappointed!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Such a great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Spent over an hour on Valentine's day wandering around Jordan looking for somewhere to eat. We eventually settled for somewhere but we definitely should have gone here! The next day we found Broodje and saw how full it was but managed to get a spot. The goats cheese with walnuts and honey sandwiches looked great but we had bacon added to make them unbelievable. Definitely recommend!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Hard to Beat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Great breakfasts and sandwiches. Good price. Small place. Very nice and hardworking staff. Good location.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

If you like a health,lite breakfast this is the place me and my wife all ways eat breakfast here in the summer and spring time, they have a outside you can sit and enjoy your meal. Bert is a family run buisness, so all are friendly and polite. I tell you its a MUST place to eat

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broodje Bert also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Broodje Bert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broodje Bert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.