We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ONE OF THE BEST!!!!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broodje Bert

Broodje Bert
Singel 321, 1012 WK Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Dam Square)
+31 20 6230382
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 2,317 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch
Neighborhood: Dam Square
new jersey
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“ONE OF THE BEST!!!!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I eat here everyday that I'm in Amsterdam, and that is often.Fresh food at bargain prices. Great place to eat and people watch. Always top quality.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    64
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“ok, but I don't understand the hype”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My sandwiche was ok/good but far from great. Price wise its very reasonable for Amsterdam, value for money was excellent as the sandwich was a decent size. I went for a melted cheese, tomato and ham roll. The roll was less than oven fresh (but in fairness we did visit mid afternoon so maybe they were fresh that morning) the ham was the normal dutch processed ham, the salad was again only ok, the lettuce had started to brown on the edges so also showed signs of not being that fresh.
The sandwich certainly filled a hole and didn't break the bank, however it wasn't this wonderful experience that others seem to come across when visiting.
Would I visit again next time I'm in town? Yeah I might, however I'll make the trip in the morning in the hope I'll encounter some fresher produce.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great, cheap meal!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A small sandwich shop along Singel canal that serves up delicious food at really great prices. We stopped here on a whim to grab a quick breakfast and were really happy we did. The tiny shop even has room for a small bathroom tucked in the back. Just watch your step, it is placed at the top of very steep stairs into the basement.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't miss this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

On a hot sunny day in Amsterdam, it was a joy to visit this little place.
Seating outside, our order was taken in lesd than five minutes.
Cold drinks was quickly served, and our food arrived within 10 minutes of ordering.
Fresh, tasty food and friendly staff made this visit a good one.
Prices are very frindly too.
Only one little minus for not taking international creditcards like Visa, Mastercard.
Warmly recommended ;-)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stoke-on-Trent
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This place was great, the sandwich the best I've had. The staff lovely. The prices good and the location amazing too. Not a bad word to say.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Broodje Bert also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Broodje Bert? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broodje Bert, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.