We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go here if you care about urban planning, modern architecture, and great food. And 50% off cultural tickets.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek)

Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek)
Oosterdokskade 143, 1011 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
020 5230900
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$44*
and up
Ranked #7 of 405 things to do in Amsterdam
Attraction details
New Orleans
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Go here if you care about urban planning, modern architecture, and great food. And 50% off cultural tickets.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Go here if you care about urban planning, modern architecture, and great food. The largest and most advanced library in Europe. To die for view on the 7th floor of the whole city. Two gourmet restaurants, two radio stations doing live broadcasts, Massive comic book collection, yes! One whole floor of music and movies to check out from around the world. (Each floor is about the size of an average warehouse) Also a theatre, and exhibition space. Oh!, Underground storage area for 2,000 bikes. And an extra special perk: You can buy tickets for any cultural event that day for 50% discount on site. And being Amsterdam, the ticket INCLUDES RT public transport to and fro. Only a 6-7 minute walk from Centraal Station along the water.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank PHurdlik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

dont forget to visit one of the most important bibliotek in amsterdam!! you can find all of your book taste!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank indiagrun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cool architecture, good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

We were allowed to leaved 4 pieces of luggage and wander around for a bit. We were welcomed with some sort of musical presentation in the lobby which I found surprising being in a library. It was quickly over however. We went all the way to the top and checked out the cafe/restaurant and checked out the view. It was the coolest library I have ever been to, which is quite the feat because I have been to at least five. Very modern look and a wonderful place to visit (for free!)

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank TravelinJash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very modern library and great food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

Visited the library upon reading reviews regarding the restaurant on the top floor. The library is very modern and is nice to explore.
The main reason for visiting the library was to have an early dinner at the restaurant on the 7th floor. The restaurant is sort of like a cafeteria but you can also get hot food, which is made in front of you. We paid €23.50 for 2 big bowls of noodles with chicken and vegetables as well as a large bottle of beer and a bottle of water. The food was tasty and filling, which is exactly what we were after!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sluis, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Light lunch with a view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Amsterdam is not known for high rise buildings and there are few places with an overview. Therefore I like this "open for public" top floor cafe for lunch with a view. They offer decent food and on a sunny day it's ideal to sit outside. Good for first time visitors to get a bird's eye view. Good to combine with visiting the harbor, museum of modern art, Nemo, and the music hall.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing