We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best views of the city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek)

Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek)
Oosterdokskade 143, 1011 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Binnenstad)
020 5230900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 246 Attractions in Amsterdam
Type: Libraries, Cultural
Attraction details
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best views of the city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

The best views of Amsterdam are from the top floor of this very modern library. I enjoyed the view and a coffee while sitting on the rooftop deck. Very clean bathrooms and if I could read dutch, would have spent more time but I was there for the view.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    826
    330
    63
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great library”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

This building by dutch architect Jo Coenen is one of the best, if not the best libraries in Holland. I love spending time there from time to time.To really appreciate it you need to spend some time on several floors and don't forget the restaurant on top.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Large library, visit to take a look at the interior design :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Loved the interior of this big library. Near the central station, with a view over the water and surrounding architecture.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

what a fabulous resource for any city to have. a state of the art library in a steel and glass building with spectacular views from the cafe on the top floor. only wish there'd been free wifi...

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great place!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I just love the library - tons of great and brand new magazines and news papers and free internet if you´re a member. Last time, I did not bring my laptop - as it was pooring with rain... and was somewhat disappointed that so many of the available computers were out of order.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.