We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and very organized” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek)

Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek)
Oosterdokskade 143, 1011 Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)
020 5230900
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$44*
and up
Ranked #7 of 405 things to do in Amsterdam
Attraction details
Sulaymaniyah, Iraq
Level Contributor
112 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Modern and very organized”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Before going I was surprised all this positive comments on this place,
but after visited there i say they deserves all praise and its near from central station
Downstairs is dedicated to kids and organized so beautifully
And the restaurant on the last floor with a great view

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Araz-ali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,071 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worth the effort for food, view and a little peace/rest”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We only managed to pop in for 30 mins whilst waiting for friends to arrive, but wished we'd come earlier for a meal.
The top floor cafe does have a great view and is large and was peaceful at the time of our visit. The cafe looked excellent, even though we didn't have time to eat - significant displays of fresh fruit and veg, great juices and sandwiches, etc. Clearly they are trying to offer something decent. Worth a visit if you need a break from the busy streets of tram and bikes - especially on a clear day.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank pethl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

We made our way here after arriving in Amsterdam from the train station. Head to the top floor, great views of the city. Worth a visit and it's free!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scraty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Unexpected location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

The library is worth a visit. Walk the stairs or take the elevator and find the restaurant on the top floor. Fine view and reasonable food.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Guts43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koper
Level Contributor
213 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Modern and still warm.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

I went here with my little daughter, so first we checked -1 etage with children's books and it is very nice decorated, with huge animals etc...There were many people sitting with children and grand children, reading them books.

On the first floor, close to the entrance, there is piano, so here and there someone sits and play.

We took elevator on the top - 6th floor and have a walk to another floor higher, where the restaurant is, but note that from 1st of November, the terracce is closed, sothe view you can have just from inside of the restaurant.

In ground floor, next to the entrance, there is nice and cheap self service restaurant.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank 123321_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek) also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Central Library (Openbare Bibliotheek)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing