We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food great service not so!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam

Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam
Prinsengracht 193a, 1015 DS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020 4272063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 2,333 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $29 - $64
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Koninginnedag/Queens day 2011
manchester
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Food great service not so!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Food fabulous couldn't fault it at all but the service wasn't great. Last time we came to Amsterdam we ate at the sister restaurant Eten & Drinken and it was excellent. The staff were really attentive and we didn't wait about for anything. Maybe its because we were there on a Saturday night but 2 courses took 2 and a half hours. Food still good though.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    577
    251
    55
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Make a reservation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This place is great, but most nights you will need a reservation, and you can see why.

The food menu choice is small but diverse and tasty, the wine list compliments the food.
I recommend the steak or tuna steak and share sides as they are big. The starter platter gives you a selection of all their starters, well worth it when you are struggling to make a decision on which starter to eat. And as for deserts well.... wow! We had 3 between us to share as we could not chose and we enjoyed all of them immensely.

I want to return to eat here tonight, it was so tasty.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent choice for dinner in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We had a wonderful dinner, the food is excellent, the steak was made as perfect as possible.
We mostly recommend on the toffee pie for dessert. The best dessert we had for a while.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Ct
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delightful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

A charming basement restaurant with super friendly service and delicious food. We had an early reservation and over the hour or so we spent there we watched every table fill with happy diners.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal with top notch service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful meal at Brasserie Vlaming. The service was fantastic and the food was delicious. We ordered homemade truffles for dessert, and apparently our server got a little busy and didn't put the order in for 5-7 minutes after we ordered. We hardly even noticed the delay and didn't mind one bit (since we were enjoying the warm and welcoming atmosphere), but when she brought them out she said that they made them extra big for us and offered some dessert wine on the house because we had to wait. It's little things like that that really make a restaurant stand out for me. Both the servers were so kind and friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.