We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam

Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam
Prinsengracht 193a, 1015 DS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020 4272063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 2,288 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $29 - $64
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Koninginnedag/Queens day 2011
Newcastle upon Tyne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Visited this restaurant on Friday night and can not recommend this place enough. My partner and I were staying close by and decided to give this place a try after reading some great reviews on TripAdvisor. We arrived without making a reservation so were were disappointed to find the place fully booked. We were thrilled exceptionally friendly staff managed to find us a table as another couple were just finishing up. The interior is beautiful, very comfortable, cosy and romantic with a spotless open kitchen. All of the food on offer sounded delicious, we opted for the sharing platter to start which was served on three tier plates which looked fantastic and tasted wonderful. The main courses were beautifully presented and cooked to perfection. The chef here clearly cares about the food they are putting out. I highly recommend that anyone visiting samples the home made limoncello which was by far the best I have ever tasted. Our night was made by the wonderful waitresses who were fun, friendly and well informed, they could not do enough to ensure we had a perfect evening.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

870 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    560
    244
    53
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

My husband and I had a great meal on 4th November, the staff were delightful and the food was excellent. We find a lot of Dutch food quite stodgy but this we delicious. It's not cheap but, we felt, worth the extra money. Well done!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food and ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

Not knowing Amsterdam well, I was a little apprehensive as the taxi pulled up in a "quiet" street with not many other open shops nearby. However by the end of the night we were all very impressed with the selection and quality of our respective dishes. The tuna steak and beef steak went down a treat as did the redfish grill. Yum.

The service was excellent too.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Ok but average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to sit with good and friendly service.
The housewine was good, but my 'selection of the day' a rib-eye steak was not very tasteful and tender. My wive's cod was too rare.
The kides loved their chips and 'bitterballen'.
Mixed feelings.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“comfortable with elegance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

It is not easy to spot this brasserie, as it is in a basement and has no showy sign; but reviews on TripAdv had enticed us. And we were not disappointed. Service unusually quick and careful for the Netherlands; interior design unusually cared for, with glossy foody prints on the walls.
Menu, as described in other reviews, and actually that good.
Wine is also in carafs, for instance a caraf of Malbec at 18 €.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.