We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 40th wedding anniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam

Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam
Prinsengracht 193a, 1015 DS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020 4272063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 2,480 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $29 - $64
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Koninginnedag/Queens day 2011
UNITED KINGDOM
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Wonderful 40th wedding anniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We chose this restaurant after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor. On arrival we were pleased to see that the restaurant was small and intimate. A lovely gentleman welcomed us and led us to our pre-booked table. The waitress who was absolutely charming gave us our menus and told us of the daily specials

The content of the menu is quite small, but we have found that the smaller the menu, the better the food. There was something we please everyone and I couldn't decide between the Angus Steak or the Tuna, eventually the Tuna won. I have never tasted Tuna like this before, it was cooked to perfection with a light salsa sauce, we both enjoyed it immensely.

On hearing that it was our 40th wedding anniversary we were given a complimentary glass of their home made Limoncello, it was delightful. As neither of us have big appetites we decided to share a dessert. When the Amaretto ice cream arrived, the numbers 40 had been piped in chocolate on a corner of the serving plate, this was such a thoughtful gesture it made me cry.

The cost of the meal, 2 mains, 1 dessert and a bottle of Cava was only 80 euros, excellent value for money.

We found the service to be first class, the food excellent and the restaurant small and cosy. We will definitely return. Very grateful thanks to all concerned for making our anniversary so special.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

939 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    603
    265
    58
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“3 Days in Amsterdam, 3 Nights in Vlaming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

Top food! Top drinks! Top service! Top staff! Top Restaurant! Literally couldn't recommend a better place to eat, the staff are ultra friendly and take care of you, along with a bit of friendly banter! Food is second to none and the wine's the same. We ate here on our first night because we stumbled upon it and on our second we ate elsewhere but still found ourselves going to Vlaming for dessert an drinks, so thought why not go back for a third night! Couldn't recommend enough!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“good pick close to Pulitzer Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We found this restaurant based on tripadvisor reviews and was not disappointed. It is set in a ground floor/basement space which did not look very welcoming at first but inside was warm and nicely decorated. The food was excellent..every dish we ordered was well prepared, fresh with generous portions. The wine selections were also outstanding. There is also a sister restaurant with the same name a few blocks away were we went as well and actually liked it even more than the one on Prinsengracht. Our waiter (or was it the owner?) sat down at our table with us as he took our order. While I thought it was funny and friendly my husband was not as amused. Either way it is a great choice for dinner in Amsterdam.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
“Well run bistro on Prinsengracht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We really enjoyed our meal here on a one night stay in Amsterdam. We found it on the inetrenat and reserved. Good job we did because they were turning people away - always a good sign.

The food was truly excellent quality and there was a very reasonably priced wine list. The service was efficient and very friendly and the owner took time to write down instructions for us to get back to our hotel, which was outside the centre of the city.

I had the mushroom soup and the duck, both excellent and and the deserts were great too.

The décor is very attractive and the menu is basically French in spite of the name of the restaurant.

Very highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Extra special birthday dinner for our good friend. The food was fabulous. Nice selection of both main entrees and sides with an ample selection of paired wines. The service was friendly and helpful, including our stop for reservations. It's a beautiful area along the canal, and we're thrilled to have spent our evening here!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.