We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal and value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam

Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam
Prinsengracht 193a, 1015 DS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020 4272063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 2,444 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $29 - $64
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Koninginnedag/Queens day 2011
London, England
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great meal and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

The Restaurant was a little way from our Hotel, but we were really glad we made the effort to find it.

Whilst the food was excellent it was probably the thought that had gone into the overall dining experience that really made this Restaurant stand out:

- ice cold tap water served in a carafe and repeatedly topped up (with a smile).
- a good selection of wines sold in 0.5L carafe, which is our preferred size for a single meal (somehow a whole bottle seems a bit too much...)
- lovely bread and a garlic dip where brought before our starters
- side orders were very large (and this was pointed out before we ordered)
- there was absolutely no problem with us sharing the delicious Toffee Pie between the 2 of us (we were really full by then)
- extremely friendly service

I should also mention a couple of specifics about the food. My wife said the Vegetarian Tart for the main course was one of the best she had tried (she's not a Vegetarian, but loves pastry) and the Black Angus Steak I had certainly ranked up there in my top 10 steaks!

My only criticisms would be that the tables are a little close together, and our side order of Chips, whilst substantial, could have come out of a freezer bag.

We would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    261
    56
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
jerusalem
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Outstanding food. Outstanding wine. Outstanding service. Great ambiance. I would make it a stop the next time I travel to Amsterdam

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herne Bay, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“High expectations amply met”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We first ate here in April and were wowed by the perfect steak and chips (all too rare a find - no pun intended!), so, on our return to Amsterdam in July, we ate here twice. The steak and chips is STILL a perfect meal - great beef; chargrilled outside and red but not bloody inside. Yum.

It felt like a risk on our second visit to order anything else. Still, I ordered the tuna... and it was utterly delicious - the best piece of tuna I have had for a long time. The fish was a beautiful pale rose and was as soft as butter. The beetroot (wafer-thin slices) and mackerel starter was just right. Wines by the glass are good. We tottered out full and happy.

Fine ingredients; accomplished cooking; nice combinations of flavours without over-complicating things - could we have one of these here in England, please?!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Södermalm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best meal in my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Following the hotels recommendations we made reservations at Vlaming for our second night in Amsterdam - we were not disappointed!

We were very well taken care of. The service was attentive and always with a smile on. We got the special starter which included small versions of almost every starter on the menu. It was all delicious! For main course we had duck and steak with a shared side order of belgian fries with mayonnaise. The side order was huge and it was actually the waiter who told us to share because of it's size so it was good that we followed that tip. After the main course we were really full but wanted to taste the famous Sticky Toffee Pie. We ordered one piece to share with a glass of homemade limoncello each. The cake was the best dessert I have ever had in my entire life! The smell of it alone was amazing. I never wanted to stop eating it!

When the check arrived we were shocked to see the amount, a nice three course dinner (even though we split dessert) with selected wines to all courses and the bill ended up at around 95 EUR for the both of us. For a Swede that is crazy cheap for such a nice meal. Vlaming should be a mandatory visit for every one spending time in Amsterdam!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth! Please give us the soup recipe!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has the best of two worlds: great food with very nice and kind people serving it. We were fascinated by the celery soup with massala curry. And so you know how kind these people are, we asked for the recipe and despite of the chef was already gone, they bothered to call his phone so we could have the recipe. Unfortunately he didn't answer the phone so hopefully, as we were told, he will read this and kindly send us an email with that so desired recipe! (Ricardojoao85@gmail.com). The duck chest was delightful, the wine was perfect and i'm out of words to describe the sticky toffee pie. For portuguese like us, we were very proud to know they have porto wine too! The staff is very very friendly! You should't miss this one!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.