We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam

Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam
Prinsengracht 193a, 1015 DS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))
020 4272063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 3,031 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $64
Cuisines: Diner, French, Dutch, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: Koninginnedag/Queens day 2011
jerusalem
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Outstanding food. Outstanding wine. Outstanding service. Great ambiance. I would make it a stop the next time I travel to Amsterdam

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank alancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Herne Bay, England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“High expectations amply met”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We first ate here in April and were wowed by the perfect steak and chips (all too rare a find - no pun intended!), so, on our return to Amsterdam in July, we ate here twice. The steak and chips is STILL a perfect meal - great beef; chargrilled outside and red but not bloody inside. Yum.

It felt like a risk on our second visit to order anything else. Still, I ordered the tuna... and it was utterly delicious - the best piece of tuna I have had for a long time. The fish was a beautiful pale rose and was as soft as butter. The beetroot (wafer-thin slices) and mackerel starter was just right. Wines by the glass are good. We tottered out full and happy.

Fine ingredients; accomplished cooking; nice combinations of flavours without over-complicating things - could we have one of these here in England, please?!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HerniaBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best meal in my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Following the hotels recommendations we made reservations at Vlaming for our second night in Amsterdam - we were not disappointed!

We were very well taken care of. The service was attentive and always with a smile on. We got the special starter which included small versions of almost every starter on the menu. It was all delicious! For main course we had duck and steak with a shared side order of belgian fries with mayonnaise. The side order was huge and it was actually the waiter who told us to share because of it's size so it was good that we followed that tip. After the main course we were really full but wanted to taste the famous Sticky Toffee Pie. We ordered one piece to share with a glass of homemade limoncello each. The cake was the best dessert I have ever had in my entire life! The smell of it alone was amazing. I never wanted to stop eating it!

When the check arrived we were shocked to see the amount, a nice three course dinner (even though we split dessert) with selected wines to all courses and the bill ended up at around 95 EUR for the both of us. For a Swede that is crazy cheap for such a nice meal. Vlaming should be a mandatory visit for every one spending time in Amsterdam!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hanna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth! Please give us the soup recipe!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has the best of two worlds: great food with very nice and kind people serving it. We were fascinated by the celery soup with massala curry. And so you know how kind these people are, we asked for the recipe and despite of the chef was already gone, they bothered to call his phone so we could have the recipe. Unfortunately he didn't answer the phone so hopefully, as we were told, he will read this and kindly send us an email with that so desired recipe! (Ricardojoao85@gmail.com). The duck chest was delightful, the wine was perfect and i'm out of words to describe the sticky toffee pie. For portuguese like us, we were very proud to know they have porto wine too! The staff is very very friendly! You should't miss this one!

Helpful?
Thank RMestre
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We always eat here when in Amsterdam. This time we ate twice. Everything was excellent. I had a pasta starter which was delicious and the Aberdeen beef was superb. Good value at 120 euros for two people. Three courses plus drinks and tip. Do not hesitate but book in advance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LizMc29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing