We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam

Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam
Prinsengracht 193a, 1015 DS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020 4272063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 2,414 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $29 - $64
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Koninginnedag/Queens day 2011
jerusalem
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Outstanding food. Outstanding wine. Outstanding service. Great ambiance. I would make it a stop the next time I travel to Amsterdam

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    588
    256
    56
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Herne Bay, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“High expectations amply met”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

We first ate here in April and were wowed by the perfect steak and chips (all too rare a find - no pun intended!), so, on our return to Amsterdam in July, we ate here twice. The steak and chips is STILL a perfect meal - great beef; chargrilled outside and red but not bloody inside. Yum.

It felt like a risk on our second visit to order anything else. Still, I ordered the tuna... and it was utterly delicious - the best piece of tuna I have had for a long time. The fish was a beautiful pale rose and was as soft as butter. The beetroot (wafer-thin slices) and mackerel starter was just right. Wines by the glass are good. We tottered out full and happy.

Fine ingredients; accomplished cooking; nice combinations of flavours without over-complicating things - could we have one of these here in England, please?!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Södermalm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best meal in my life!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Following the hotels recommendations we made reservations at Vlaming for our second night in Amsterdam - we were not disappointed!

We were very well taken care of. The service was attentive and always with a smile on. We got the special starter which included small versions of almost every starter on the menu. It was all delicious! For main course we had duck and steak with a shared side order of belgian fries with mayonnaise. The side order was huge and it was actually the waiter who told us to share because of it's size so it was good that we followed that tip. After the main course we were really full but wanted to taste the famous Sticky Toffee Pie. We ordered one piece to share with a glass of homemade limoncello each. The cake was the best dessert I have ever had in my entire life! The smell of it alone was amazing. I never wanted to stop eating it!

When the check arrived we were shocked to see the amount, a nice three course dinner (even though we split dessert) with selected wines to all courses and the bill ended up at around 95 EUR for the both of us. For a Swede that is crazy cheap for such a nice meal. Vlaming should be a mandatory visit for every one spending time in Amsterdam!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Heaven on earth! Please give us the soup recipe!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant has the best of two worlds: great food with very nice and kind people serving it. We were fascinated by the celery soup with massala curry. And so you know how kind these people are, we asked for the recipe and despite of the chef was already gone, they bothered to call his phone so we could have the recipe. Unfortunately he didn't answer the phone so hopefully, as we were told, he will read this and kindly send us an email with that so desired recipe! (Ricardojoao85@gmail.com). The duck chest was delightful, the wine was perfect and i'm out of words to describe the sticky toffee pie. For portuguese like us, we were very proud to know they have porto wine too! The staff is very very friendly! You should't miss this one!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We always eat here when in Amsterdam. This time we ate twice. Everything was excellent. I had a pasta starter which was delicious and the Aberdeen beef was superb. Good value at 120 euros for two people. Three courses plus drinks and tip. Do not hesitate but book in advance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.