We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spot On” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam

Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam
Prinsengracht 193a, 1015 DS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020 4272063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #35 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $29 - $64
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Koninginnedag/Queens day 2011
Mobberley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Spot On”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Went first time but were caught out the kitchens shut at 22:00.
However it was worth the trip back, excellent staff and the Angus steak was perfect. Sticky toffee pie was delicious, and a great wine selection, very good staff. Best food we had in Amsterdam.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    594
    261
    56
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Reservations Reservations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

We dined twice at Brasserie Vlaming. We had originally planned to visit Brasserie Vlaming once, followed by their sister restaurant, but we were so blown away by the food that we changed our 2nd reservation to Brasserie Vlaming.

On our first visit we had the scallops, sous vide duck, king prawns, and sticky toffee pie. They were all good, and the duck was the dish that prompted us to reschedule our 2nd reservation. It was really mind-blowingly fantastic.

We has the steak and duck on our 2nd visit. This time I felt that the duck was missing a little something. That doesn't mean it wasn't fantastic, just not as incredible as the previous visit. I thought the steak was nice, though nowhere as fantastic as the duck.

It was a little hard to get the waitresses' attention when it got busier, but they were always polite so it wasn't a big deal since we weren't in a rush.

Overall I would recommend trying Brasserie Vlaming, and I would definitely return if I visit Amsterdam again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
seattle, washington
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

This bistro has such good food, that a couple seated near us was there for the third time! We were there on our last night in Amsterdam, but will definitely go back on another visit. My husband had seared tuna in a ginger sesame sauce. I had the slow cooked rack of Berkshire pork with a truffle sauce. It was the most tender delicious pork I have ever eaten.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This restaurant was among the recommendations from our hotel, The Toren. After checking the TA reviews and the proximity to the hotel, we asked the front desk to make us an early reservation.

We were the first people in the restaurant, so we got our pick of seats. The long single room has occasional bamboo-like plantings between tables that gave the impression of privacy even after the restaurant filled up, which is nice.

The choices for the night were posted along one wall in a couple of languages. The friendly waitress took the time to discuss them with us and chat until more people showed up. We started with an appetizer of scallops and snails, which were delicious. For the main courses we had a great vegetable dish, the tarte tatin, and the sous vide duck, which was good but not memorable. We finished with the toffee pie which was quite tasty.

Overall, this restaurant wasn't in-your-face amazing, but the service was friendly, and the food was very fresh and perfectly prepared. I'd definitely eat there again if and when we next visit Amsterdam.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not Memorable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

This spot was recommended by our hotel. The food was okay, the service was passable. My wife had the pork which was not "falling off the bone," if you catch my drift. I had the roasted turbot which was not memorable. The mouse running through the restaurant towards the end of our meal was problematic. Final tally over 100 Euros with two martinis and 2 glasses of wine. You decide.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.