We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect food, excellent service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam

Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam
Prinsengracht 193a, 1015 DS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Jordaan)
020 4272063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 2,435 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $29 - $64
Cuisines: Diner, Dutch, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Jordaan
Description: Koninginnedag/Queens day 2011
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect food, excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Perfect food, excellent service. We were more than an hour and a half late and they were very nice. the food was amazing - i'll go back

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frans1951, Owner at Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear guest from Amsterdam, our policy is that if people are 15 minutes too late without letting us know by phone and if we're fully booked, we give the table to walk ins. But of course we always will try to be flexible and find a solution: sometimes it works out, sometimes not :-(
I'm glad you were lucky:-). Thank you for your kind review and best regards, Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    595
    261
    56
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, staff and ambience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We have just returned from Amsterdam and booked this restaurant due to trip advisor reviews. We were certaintly not disappointed. I booked online a couple of weeks before as I had read you needed to book and we were visiting on a Saturday and they confirmed booking very quickly. Table was waiting for us and although the restaurant is small you did not feel cramped or too close to your neighbours. All the tables were taken but service was never affected in anyway.

We immediately were given a complimentary jug of water that was constantly topped up which was fantastic and also complimentary bread with a wonderful homemade spread. I had the pork which was perfectly cooked and tender and my husband had the steak, both were incredible. You do have to order side dishes, I had the roast sweet potatoes and my husband had the green vegetables and we still managed not to eat them both so maybe ask if you could split the side dishes so there is no waste. Of course we both had the sticky toffee pudding which is not to be missed. Only slight niggle was that I ordered the house Rose but was given the house white but as it was the same price I did not bother to complain as it was still lovely.

Can highly recommend but make sure you book in advance.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frans1951, Owner at Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear visitor from Gloucester , thank you for this extensive and nice review. If there is a next time I hope you get the drink you ordered, but if not: please bring it to notice of the waiter!! You should get what you want, even if it's the same price. The side-dishes we serve are each big enough for 2 persons, so the meaning is that you share them. But indeed, if you're not "big eaters" it still might be too much :-) The pork you mention is slow cooked in Sous Vide (air sealed in a water basin) at a low temperature: the meat remains succulent and tender. Best regards, Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Read the reviews on Trip Advisor and booked for our first night in Amsterdam.

We had a superb evening - ravioli and prawns for starter, really tender steak and crispy chips (just how I like them!) and the famous sticky toffee pie to finish. The service was friendly and efficient (not always a given in Amsterdam). We wanted to go to Vlaming Eating and Drinking a couple of nights later, but couldn't get in either venue. Say no more, and book early!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frans1951, Owner at Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear guest from Weymouth, you're right: also for "Vlaming eten & drinken" you better make a reservation in advance. It's even smaller than the brasserie. And yes, not in every restaurant in Amsterdam the service is very friendly. But I believe it's improving already, so maybe in future we're not an exception anymore :-) Thank you for your kind review and best regards. Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovenija
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Lively restaurant with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Friends took us to this beautiful restaurant and we had a great evening. The staff was friendly and responsive. I must say that while the food was good I didn't find it anything special. The STP was yummy though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frans1951, Owner at Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear guest from Slovenija, thank you for your friendly review. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay with us so much. Hopefully next time you come you find something more special on the menu or as a "specialty of the day". Best regards, Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
1 review
“a wonderful dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

if you would like to visit the top 10 must do's in amsterdam: this is one of it!
we have been to brasserie vlaming during the ADE and its wonderful. the team, the atmosphere, the menu (the steak!!!) and of course the limoncello! all in all a wonderful evening. i'll be back :)

best wishes
chris

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frans1951, Owner at Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear visitor from Köln, I hope that indeed you come back during next year's exhibition and that you will enjoy again your stay with us. For sure the homemade Limoncello will still be on the menu!! Thank you for your kind review. Best regards, Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.