We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam

Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam
Prinsengracht 193a, 1015 DS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
020 4272063
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 2,465 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Price range: $29 - $64
Cuisines: French, Dutch, International, Grill, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Koninginnedag/Queens day 2011
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

We had a lovely meal at Brasserie Vlaming. The veal for our mains was so tender and well presented. Most enjoyable.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frans1951, Owner at Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear guest from Derbyshire, the veal you mention was a specialty of the day. We have a limited menu, but apart from that enough extra choice every day. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Best regards, Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    631
    271
    61
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Brasserie Vlaming really deserves its high rating on TA - we were certainly not disappointed - the food is excellent - service is first rate - the whole place has a real fun atmosphere - we chatted to the couple on the next table next to us - as well as sharing some home made limencello with Frans the owner who is such a charming and interesting man - we were made to feel like old friends and if we lived closer we would certainly become regulars!

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frans1951, Owner at Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear guest from Dunstable, you wrote a very nice review: thank you. We really like it if "neighbour" tables have contact to eachother and enjoy the evening as if they're with friends. And of course the homemade Limoncello helps to achieve that!! Please come back when you're in Amsterdam again. Best regards, Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Belive the hype.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

What can i say that has not been said before? the food, was as the reviews promised 1st rate, our starter of pat'e was divine and the pork in cognac sauce..perfect!
We had pre booked a table several weeks in advance for 20:30, when we arrived unfortunately our table was not yet ready(the place was very busy and i recommend booking well in advance), the matradee however was very apologetic and seated us at the pleasant bar area and supplied me and my partner with several free beers and some fresh bread & olives as we waited a short time, the matradee was exceptional through out and i don't think we actually paid for a drink full stop!
At the end of the nights service the chef visited each diners table to ensure every one was happy, this gave us the chance to compliment him personally.
With out a doubt one of the most enjoyable evening meals i have ate with my wife in over 15 years, cant recommend it highly enough, bravo to all involved at this wonderful place.
TOP TIP : arrive 30 mins early, and walk a bit further up the canal and stop for a drink in Café "De II Prinsen" on the corner, another of Amsterdam's hidden gems.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frans1951, Owner at Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear visitor from Newcastle upon Tyne, a Dutch guest was complaining lately in his review that we presented him the bill at 20:30. So probably it was your table he was sitting at: we sometimes double book if the 1st guest agrees to leave in time, but not always they're ready when the new guests arrive. Sorry again for letting you wait a while!! Thank you for your friendly review and best regards, Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well worth a trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We had a great time. Awesome food. Great service. Worth the detour and the walk there and back. I strongly recommend!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frans1951, Owner at Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear guest from Rome, thank you for taking time to write this friendly review!! Best regards, Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“TOFFEE PIE IS ORGASMIC!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

This was the first restaurant of our two week adventure, Far and away the most memorable dessert of the trip. If you go to Amsterdam and do not have toffee Pie at Brasserie Vlaming, you really haven't been to Amsterdam... it is THAT GOOD!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frans1951, Owner at Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam, responded to this review, May 8, 2012
Dear guest from Omaha, I hope you also enjoyed the rest of your dinner :-) !! If you want to try to make the STP yourself, just send me an email through our website and I'll send you the recipe: as long as you don't open a restaurant next door to us.... Best regards, Frans Vlaming
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brasserie Vlaming - Amsterdam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.